Friendly Fires have distilled the sounds of summer for new track ‘Silhouettes’ and now share details of their eagerly awaited third album.

It’s been eight years since the release of their epic and glorious second album Pala and I had long ago come to terms with the fact that the band I had fallen in love with over two albums may never return. I was, I’m glad to say, wrong and now Ed Macfarlane, Edd Gibson and Jack Savidge are back with a vengeance and getting ready to release third album Inflorescent (out 16 August via Polydor).

Latest track ‘Silhouettes’ (out now on the usual digital channels) follows hot on the heels of previous sun-drenched singles ‘Love Like Waves’ and ‘Heaven Let Me In’, but is the most radio-friendly of the three. From the beginning, this song is sure to have crowds sambaing across the dancefloor – it’s impossible to resist. This song has an unmistakable summery ‘Club Tropicana’ vibe and the yearning in Macfarlane’s vocal as he sings “I had to miss the plane to be with you” is very reminiscent of George Michael. I can almost feel the sun on my skin and the sand between my toes.

If their set at this year’s Glastonbury is anything to go by, ‘Silhouettes’ will be as at home being sung by a crowd in a sweaty gig as being played in clubs all over the world.

Friendly Fires have spent the past year stepping slowly back into the limelight and the euphoric pop of ‘Silhouettes’ serves as another reminder of why we’ve missed them so much.

Friendly Fires Live 2019

Sun 14 July Citadel Festival, London, UK
Sat 20 July Splendour In The Grass, Yelgun, Australia
Sun 21 July 170 Russell, Melbourne, Australia
Mon 22 July Metro Theatre, Sydney, Australia
Fri 26 July Leopallooza, Bude, UK
Sat 27 July Standon Calling, Standon, UK
Sat 14 Sep Nova Batida, Lisbon, Portugal
Tue 24 Sep Elsewhere, Brooklyn, New York, US
Thu 26 Sep Fillmore Theatre, San Francisco, US
Fri 27 Sep Fonda Theatre, Los Angeles, US
Sat 28 Sep CRSSD Music & Arts Festival, San Diego, US