Daughters leader Alexis Marshall announces debut solo album, shares ‘Hounds in the Abyss’

Alexis Marshall (credit: Jeremy W.)

Last August, Alexis Marshall, leader of noise rock merchants Daughters, released a surprise solo track called ‘Nature in Three Movements‘. That song served as his debut solo single – it’s nowhere to be found on the track listing for his debut solo album, however; it consists of brand-new material and is called House of Lull . House of When, landing Friday July 23rd via Sargent House.

Viewers (or indeed, listeners) of a particularly anxious disposition should know that its lead single ‘Hounds in the Abyss’ is loaded with pulse-quickening dread, exacerbated by its Jeremy W.-directed video. It’s a remarkably intense first offering from the record, which was constructed from the ground up in the studio – yes, Marshall went into it with nothing written, accompanied only by his chosen collaborators: Daughters bandmate Jon Syverson; Kristin Hayter (Lingua Ignota); and Evan Patterson (Young Widows/Jaye Jayle). It’s sure to be a fascinating and unnerving listen. Check out the aforementioned video below. That tracklist runs as follows:

01. ‘Drink From The Oceans . Nothing Can Harm You’
02. ‘Hounds in the Abyss’
03. ‘It Just Doesn’t Feel Good Anymore’
04. ‘Youth As Religion .’
05. ‘Religion as Leader’
06. ‘No Truth in the Body’
07. ‘Open Mouth’
08. ‘They Can Lie There Forever’
09. ‘Night Coming’

Previous Track: Blacktop Mojo - Tail Lights
Next See: A discarded bass string finds new life in the stop-motion tale of Peace Flag Ensemble's 'Hilma af Klint in Ab'

No Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.