News: Neil Young to release live album and concert film of 1971 performance at Massey Hall

Fifty years after the original performance, Neil Young announces the March 26th release of ‘Young Shakespeare’, an as-yet unreleased 1971 live recording and concert film which contains the earliest known live performance footage of Young known to exist. Recorded in Stratford, Connecticut, the show captures the artist stripped down to the bare essentials – acoustic guitar, piano, and harmonica.

See the album trailer, below:

Just two months after the release of Young’s seminal ‘After the Gold Rush’, he sat down for a performance at The Shakespeare Theater on January 22th, 1971. The concert was recorded for presentation on German TV later that year but was not publicly available until now.

The original 50 year-old analogue tapes have been lovingly restored, making available early acoustic recordings of two ‘After the Gold Rush’ songs and beloved favourites such as ‘Ohio’, ‘Cowgirl in the Sand’, ‘Helpless’, ‘Down by the River’ and ‘Sugar Mountain’. It also features early recordings of ‘Old Man’, ‘The Needle and the Damage Done’, ‘A Man Needs a Maid’ and ‘Heart of Gold’, all of which were then over a year away from being released on Young’s classic 1972 album ‘Harvest’.

Young wrote on Neil Young Archives (NYA) that ‘Young Shakespeare’ is,

“a more calm performance, without the celebratory atmosphere of Massey Hall, captured live on 16mm. Young Shakespeare is a very special event. To my fans, I say this is the best ever… one of the most pure-sounding acoustic performances we have in the Archive.”

Check out the live version of ‘Tell Me Why’, here

‘Young Shakespeare’ is available to pre-order here.

It will be released on vinyl and CD, while the concert film will be released as a standalone DVD. All three formats will be packaged together as a Deluxe Box Set Edition. Everyone who orders any physical format from this link will also receive high-res audio files of the album. Fans who pre-order the album will receive an instant download of ‘Tell Me Why’, while additional instant download tracks will follow prior to the album’s release.

‘Young Shakespeare’ tracklist:

1. ‘Tell Me Why’

2. ‘Old Man’

3. ‘The Needle and the Damage Done’

4. ‘Ohio’

5. ‘Dance Dance Dance’

6. ‘Cowgirl in the Sand’

7. ‘A Man Needs a Maid / Heart Of Gold’

8. ‘Journey Through the Past’

9. ‘Don’t Let It Bring You Down’

10. ‘Helpless’

11. ‘Down by the River’

12. ‘Sugar Mountain’

NYA is the first totally immersive fan-experience website and remains the only portal for all things Neil Young. It’s also the home of Young’s virtual daily newspaper, The Times Contrarian, and The Hearse Theater, home to rare footage and live-streamed shows. Find it here

Previous Track: Gazelle Twin & NYX - 'Deep England'; burrowing into the dank peat of a merrie old nation
Next Album Review: nothing,nowhere. - Trauma Factory

No Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.