Album Review: Louie Fresco – Autophobia

As No.19 Music celebrates its fifth anniversary, Jonny White’s highly influential label looks to hotly tipped Mexican DJ/producer Louie Fresco for the label’s latest album release…

No.19 Music has forged a dominant position for itself in the electronic music landscape over the last 5 years, taking the world by storm with its global Social Experiment label events and releasing a seemingly never ending stream of incredible singles from the likes of Art Department, Deniz Kurtel, Eric Volta, My Favorite Robot and Louie Fresco to name a few. But alongside this high impact schedule the imprint has been carefully nurturing its talented artists and making waves with its album releases, from Soul Clap and Art Department curated compilations to the stunning artist albums from My Favorite Robot and Tone of Arc. Now the No.19 crew look to the release of their latest LP, this time supplied by label favourite and rising star, the aforementioned Louie Fresco.

Built around eleven original recordings, it’s an expansive LP that draws on a myriad of musical themes and threads, weaving them into the captivating audio tapestry that is ‘Autophobia’. Opening with the wonderfully sun kissed ‘Missunderstood’ featuring the vocal talents of Aquarius Heaven, Fresco makes a bold statement with this infectious and left of centre inaugural cut. ‘White Sugar’ and ‘Do Ya’ see the artist journey into hypnotic territory with two tracks that showcase his House music proclivities before his debut single ‘So Good’ drops as both an interlude and album version.

Nestled at the heart of this long player is new single ‘Arabian Sexcapade’, a delightfully twisted and mesmeric piece of electronic music that anchors this collection together beautifully. ‘Autophobia’ shifts gears at this point, taking the listener into a series of cuts that give insight into Fresco’s less dancefloor orientated musical influences. A percussive slo-mo interlude in the shape of the ‘Thrill Me’ lays the way for the album’s title track, an emotive and laid back recording that features the hauntingly ethereal vocals of Luna.

Penultimate cut ‘Hunter & Prey’ stays in down tempo territory with its edgy and intense atmosphere driven forth by a killer rhythm section before Louie Fresco delivers his final gem, the epic early hours anthem that is ‘Alternate Dimension (Nothing Will Fall Apart)’, which brings things firmly back to the floor.

This is an accomplished and revealing debut album from an artist who is rapidly becoming a central figure in electronic music and provides one of the best hours of music you are likely to hear this year.

1. Missunderstood featuring Aquarius Heaven
2. White Suger (DUB)
3. Do Ya
4. So Good Interlude
5. So Good (album version)
6. Arabian Sexcapade
7. Owl Night
8. Thrill Me (interlude)
9. Autophobia featuring Luna
10. Hunter & Prey
11. Alternate Dimension (Nothing Will Fall Apart)

Previous Track: Band of Holy Joy - When a gift is a curse
Next Live: The Provincial Archive at The Islington

No Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.