Album Review: Slade – The Amazing Kamikaze Syndrome (Reissue)

Originally released in 1983, ‘The Amazing Kamikaze Syndrome’ is back, and it has had a makeover, still delivering the same enormous sound as it did back in the day yet this time you can choose for it all sit on top of a beautiful slab of orange and red vinyl if so desired.

So, what has changed, well not much really bar the aesthetics of it. The huge Slade sound is still standing front and centre, Noddy is still blasting out the vocals as if his one intention is to wake the neighbours and the huge smash hit anthems are still there, well why wouldn’t they when its just a reissue.

‘(And Now The Waltz) C’est La Vie’ is still crushing, perhaps with more of an edge than we saw on the original, huge guitar chords and smashing drums see it definitely stand out as a leader of the pack while other highlights include ‘Slam The Hammer Down’ and ‘My Oh My’ (which peaked at a colossal number 2 when it originally charted in the UK). Both of the latter still manage to showcase the raw talents of Slade yet in more of a commercial setting, the obvious crackling and popping which add the charm to the original presses isn’t pronounced but the riffs are still colossal and the vocals are delivered with real purpose and intent, intent on making you sit up and listen to the rock and roll that is conjured up with obvious ease.

The album has it all, raucous vocals, mesmerising string work and battering drumbeats, hell they even have some chilling violin work that adds another dimension to the whole thing and gives it the edge that surely must have added to the mixing pot which helped Slade stand out from their peers first time around.

This is a timeless classic and well worthy of a repress to celebrate the 40 years of its existence. This is an album that anyone with a passing interest in British rock needs to add to their collection, it’s timeless and is just as relevant and fresh now as it was all those years ago. 

Pre order the album here

The Amazing Kamikaze Syndrome vinyl tracklist:

Side A:

  1. Slam The Hammer Down
  2. In The Doghouse
  3. Run Runaway
  4. High And Dry
  5. My Oh My
  6. Cocky Rock Boys (Rule O.K.)

Side B :

  1. Ready To Explode
  2. (And Now The Waltz) C’est la vie
  3. Cheap ‘N’ Nasty Luv 
  4. Razzle Dazzle Man
Previous Meet: Teesside Metallers Motions
Next Track: Fudge - Your Fall From Grace

No Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.