News: Mark Tremonti Announces ‘Tremonti Sings Sinatra’ Charity Album For The National Down Syndrome Society

Chuck Brueckmann

GRAMMY® winning musician, producer, author as well as founding member of chart-topping, globally successful rock bands Alter Bridge, Creed, and Tremonti, Mark Tremonti is “stepping out” with his most-ambitious and challenging project to date.

Announced today, March 21st, on World Down Syndrome Day, Mark has partnered with National Down Syndrome Society (NDSS) as he releases an album of Frank Sinatra covers entitled Tremonti Sings Sinatra. The album of selections from Frank Sinatra’s catalogue is being released as part of a new charity initiative created by Tremonti called Take A Chance For Charity. Proceeds from the album – scheduled for release on May 27th – will go to support NDSS and the work they do to advocate for and support individuals with Down syndrome and their families. Mark and his family were blessed to welcome their first daughter Stella last March – who was born with Down syndrome – and the idea for the project was born.

A video sharing the very personal story of Take A Chance For Charity and behind-the-scenes clips can be seen here:

“For years, I’ve loved singing along to Frank’s songs,” 

Mark explains. 

“One night, I found an old video of him performing ‘The Song Is You’ from 1944. It made me want to dive into his vocal approach. I was all in and I wanted to do something with it. When we found out about our daughter Stella’s Down syndrome diagnosis, the stars aligned. My obsession with Sinatra had its reason. Frank Sinatra raised more than a billion dollars for charity and that is a fact I wish the public knew more about. Beneath his cool and calm persona, he had a big heart. Doing this charity in his name was another way the stars had aligned. I decided to do this record to raise funds for families and individuals with Down syndrome. This project is the start of a new purpose that I will have for the rest of my life.” 

With supportive guidance from the Sinatra family, Mark Tremonti has come together with surviving members of Frank Sinatra’s orchestra, creating new takes on both classics and deeper cuts from Frank’s catalogue. From the opening horns and piano of “I’ve Got You Under My Skin” to final vocal outro of “All Or Nothing At All,” Mark Tremonti showcases the signature vocal approach and exemplary musicianship that made Sinatra’s work timeless. To see his vision through, Mark reached out to Frank Sinatra’s musical director Mike Smith who collected as many remaining members as possible of Frank’s touring band to record the music for Tremonti Sings Sinatra. Where sadly, some members have passed away, the orchestra was completed by a cast of stellar musicians, between them known for playing with Aretha Franklin, Stevie Wonder, Ray Charles, Lady Gaga, Count Basie, Buddy Rich, Barbra Streisand, Dizzy Gillespie, and more. The album was recorded at Chicago’s Palisade Studios and Crystall Recorders, with arrangements from Mike Smith and Carey Deadman.

Popular standards like “I’ve Got The World On A String,” “My Way” and “That’s Life” find new life in the hands of these incredible musicians. Mark Tremonti – known for his guitar work that has won him countless accolades – leaves the instrument behind and just sings on the 14-track album. The artwork on the album cover is an original painting that Mark Tremonti created especially for this project.

Watch the video for the first track “I’ve Got You Under My Skin” below:

Tremonti Sings Sinatra is now available for pre-order at:

The track listing for Tremonti Sings Sinatra is:

  1. I’ve Got You Under My Skin
  2. I’ve Got The World On A String
  3. I Fall In Love Too Easily
  4. Wave
  5. Fly Me To The Moon
  6. Nancy (With The Laughing Face)
  7. My Way
  8. You Make Me Feel So Young
  9. Luck Be A Lady
  10. That’s Life
  11. Come Fly With Me
  12. In The Wee Small Hours Of The Morning
  13. The Song Is You
  14. All Or Nothing At All

Find out more via the Website here

Previous Live Review: Kosheen - The Garage, London 12.03.2022
Next News: Nine Inch Nails Announce Three Additional UK Headline Shows; London, Manchester and Glasgow

No Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.