OMD to release special 40th anniversary box set ’Souvenir’ & greatest hits collection.


Orchestral Manoeuvres In The Dark (OMD) continue their 40th anniversary celebrations with the announcement of a career box set, ‘Souvenir’ and brand new greatest hits collection – out October 4th. The special box set will comprise of 5 CDs and 2 DVDs housed in a 10” box set, together with a hardback book, poster and a series of 10” prints. 

Alongside the box set, there will also be a 2CD and 3LP format which will be a brand new greatest hits package, spanning the band’s 40-year career. This includes all the singles from ‘Electricity’ to ‘What Have We Done’, as well as the exclusive brand new single, ‘Don’t Go’

Written and produced by both Paul and Andy, and recorded at Bleepworks in London, the playful and uplifting new song ‘Don’t Go’ melds together the plaintive melancholia of McCluskey’s lyrical refrain and the soaring synth melody from Paul Humphreys, combining to create the classic style of OMD.

The band will also embark on a huge world tour later this year, including 21 UK dates listed in full below:


Weds 23rd             Belfast, Ulster Hall

Sat 26th                  Nottingham, Royal Concert Hall

Sun 27th                 York, Barbican

Mon 28th               Hull, Arena

Weds 30th             Gateshead, Sage

Tues 31st                Glasgow, Royal Concert Hall


Fri 1st                       Manchester, O2 Apollo

Sun 3rd                   Sheffield, City Hall

Mon 4th                 Liverpool, Empire

Tues 5th                  Birmingham, Symphony Hall

Thurs 7th                 Leicester, De Montfort Hall

Fri 8th                      Bath, Pavilion

Sat 9th                    Oxford, New Theatre

Mon 11th               Guildford, G Live

Tues 12th                Portsmouth, Guildhall

Weds 13th             Watford, Colosseum

Fri 15th                    Cambridge, Corn Exchange

Sat 16th                  Ipswich, Regent Theatre

Sun 17th                 Bexhill, De La Warr Pavilion

Tues 19th                Bournemouth, Pavilion Theatre

Weds 20th             London, Eventim Apollo

The audio discs include all the band’s singles from ‘Electricity’ to ‘What Have We Done’, as well as a brand new single ‘Don’t Go’, exclusive to this release. The box set also includes a previously unreleased live show from the Hammersmith Odeon in 1983, 22 previously unreleased demos from the archive which have been selected and mixed by Paul Humphreys, rare and unreleased live material from the BBC and an entire live show from the Mermaid Theatre in 2011.

One of the DVDs contains BBC TV performances from Top Of The Pops, Old Grey Whistle Test, Later With Jools Holland and more. The other contains a live show from Sheffield City Hall in 1985, another live show from the Theatre Royal, Drury Lane in 1981, as well as Crush – The Movie.

The book contains unseen photos, single sleeve artwork, an introduction by Paul Morley and sleeve notes to accompany the archive material by Andy McCluskey.

Today’s announcement comes as part of another exciting installment of the band’s anniversary celebrations which first saw the reissue of their first four classic albums on 180g vinyl, mastered at half speed by Miles Showell at Abbey Road and housed in their original iconic die cut sleeves designed by the legendary Peter Saville, followed by the huge world tour. The band, Andy McCluskey, Paul Humphreys, Martin Cooper and Stuart Kershaw will be starting in October in Portugal, stretching through to February 2020 finishing in Paris.

Previous News: ARCTOS Premiere New Song and Album news
Next News: ALGEBRA New album!

No Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.