Jazz group Apifera shares a new single ‘Énék Hamaguro’ from their debut album Overstand, out 15 January on Stones Throw. The track is an instrumental version of the band’s recent collaboration with funk legend Steve Arrington, for his new album ‘Down To The Lowest Terms: The Soul Sessions’.

Apifera says about the track:

“This is a homage to our fans and friends in Tokyo and Nakamaguro neighborhood in particular. It’s an upbeat sonic-jazz jam, which we played and recorded live and also used as a playback on Steve Arrington’s new album, for the song “My Favorite Swing”.

Bright and full of energy with wonderful sprightly bass with some great dynamic drumming. High pitched keyboards interplay with the melodic bass to colour the track leaving us with a interesting and pleasing track.

Check it out, here:

Pick up the album here

Apifera is Yuval Havkin aka Rejoicer, Nitai Hershkovits, Amir Bresler and Yonatan Albalak. Accomplished solo artists in their own right, the four musicians create organic-sounding structures, harmonies and arrangements, often drawing on real-life spiritual and psychedelic experiences. 

Overstand – Tracklist
1. Overstand
2. Lake VU
3. Énék Hamaguro
4. Yaki’s Delight
5. The Pit & The Beggar
6. Notre Damn
7. Iris One
8. Four Green Yellows
9. Gerçekten Orada Değilsin
10. Pulse 420