Track: Koppies – Hospital Song

South African-British indie-folk ensemble Koppies are to release their self-titled debut EP via Lost Map Records. Koppies sees five long-time friends and collaborators – a trio of songwriters in Victoria Hume (vocals, keys), Matthew van der Want (vocals, guitar) and Chris Letcher (vocals, guitar, keys), plus bassist Andrew Joseph and drummer Nicholas Bjorkman (drums)

Regarding the track Victoria describes: 

“a pretty literal song about a period of time when my mother was unwell, and the strangeness of driving to and from the hospital along these beautiful Dorset roads that I’ve driven since I was a teenager, heading out to see friends.”

Like a late night drive the soft piano motif floats giving a lullaby feel to the heartfelt lyrics. The steady build is hypnotic in its delivery with gentle percussion and Hume’s caramel smooth vocals.

Check it out, here

Find out more via the bands Website or Lost Maps Website

Previous See: Far Caspian drops the hushed guitar thrill of 'Questions', announces his debut album and a European tour
Next Track: Interstellar Tay expresses yearning and loss with the sparkling, effervescent 'Garden Song'

No Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.