Track: Soundwalk Collective With Patti Smith – Knowledge Of The Self

With their new album Peradam due for release on September 4th, 2020 via Bella Union, Soundwalk Collective with Patti Smith have shared new track “Knowledge Of The Self” and an accompanying video that features editing and a visual collage by Anastasia Ivanova.

Of the track, Patti Smith says: “We have to, in order to be free of all of the things that we are attached to, even ideas of ourselves, or masks that we put on or Band-Aid’s upon our transgressions, in order to achieve this freedom, we have to peel away everything, every defence we have, every defence that we put up for ourselves. I think that Daumal is directing us to do this but in a benevolent way, although there is no way to protect anyone from the pain of enlightenment, you have to grope about, and you have to strip down.”

Featuring Anoushka Shankar on sitar and the spoken word by Patti Smith this is a meditation as well as a music track. Its hypnotic with its Indian flavour courtesy of that mesmerising sitar and free time percussion. Patti’s voice is like molten gold in its texture, bringing a deep spiritual feel to this incredible and unique track.

Check it out, here

Find out more via the Soundwalk Collective Website or Facebook

Pre order the album here

Peradam track listing:

1. Nanda Devi

2. Peradam (featuring Tenzin Choegyal)

3. Knowledge Of The Self (featuring Anoushka Shankar)

4. Dawn in Rishikesh

5. Spiritual Death (featuring Tenzin Choegyal)

6. The Four Cardinal Times (featuring Charlotte Gainsbourg)

7. Hymn To The Liquid

8. Vera

9. The Rat (featuring Tenzin Choegyal)

Previous SEE: The Allergies - 'I Just Got That Feeling': fightin' the 3am blues with crisp Brizzle beatz
Next Film Review: La Llorona

No Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.