Track: Studio Electrophonique – Buxton Palace Hotel, Plus Album News

Studio Electrophonique is the solo work of Sheffield’s James Leesley – hauntingly sparse and delicately beautiful, recorded in his home studio late at night. He first caught our attention when he supported Richard Hawley earlier this year and we advised to look out for him. Single ‘Buxton Palace Hotel’ perfectly captures the spirit of the project:

Bleakly romantic – Everything that I do, I do it for you – and melancholic, this is a gorgeously restrained and aching song that reminds me of Lou Reed at his most introspective.

According to Leesley, Studio Electrophonique allows me a more introspective, vulnerable lyrical approach. The words don’t have to introduce themselves to anyone before being in the song, so they could just be themselves. This has been the most natural and satisfying way of writing songs.

Studio Electrophonique’s debut album “Buxton Palace Hotel” is being released through Violette Records on 20th September 2019. The track listing is:

The Palace Side
1. Jayne
2. You Had Me Hanging On
3. Ill With You

The Tap Room Side
1. I Don’t Think I Love You Anymore
2. Buxton Palace Hotel
3. Film Night

You can catch a cheeky live preview of ‘You Had Me Hanging On’ recorded at Brenda’s Fish and Chips in Sheffield:

Absolutely lovely stuff. Look out for an European tour from Studio Electrophonique later this year.

Previous Track: Mallrat - Charlie plus EP and tour news
Next Album Review: Lizzo - Cuz I Love You

No Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.