Track: Tempesst – On the Run plus album news

‘On the Run’, the new single from Tempesst, is a very cool slice of indie psych, with singer Toma Banjanin’s voice a deep and sonorous delight and shimmering walls of guitar and harmonies. Louche, studied and melodic: this is a great song imbued with a certain poise and attitude that bursts in to celestial choruses. Short, sharp and very tasty.

The accompanying video was directed by Tempesst drummer Andy Banjanin:

There’s hints of Nick Cave, Tindersticks and a bucketful of style.

While based in London, Tempesst have a strong link to Australia with Australia-born twin brothers Toma on vocals and guitars and Andy Banjanin on drums; the band is rounded out by fellow Australians Kane Reynolds (keys) and Blake Misipeka (bass) with Swiss/American guitarist Eric Weber.

The song comes off Tempesst’s new album, ‘Must Be A Dream’, due out on 30 September through Pony Recordings.

Must Be A Dream – track list

1. Better Than The Devil
2. Must Be A Dream
3. High On My Own
4. Mushroom Cloud
5. Walk On The Water 
6. On The Run 
7. Age Of The Bored
8. With A Woman
9. Is This All That There Is? 
10. Voices In My Head

Photo credit: Tex Bishop

Previous Feature: Tim Wheatley - Lying Low plus Australian Playlist
Next TRACK: swim in Lindsay Munroe's 'River'

No Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.