New Music: RÖYKSOPP – Skulls

royksoppIt coming to the end of an era, for Norwegian duo Röyksopp, aka Torbjørn Brundtland and Svein Berge.Their forthcoming fifth album, the appropriately titled The Inevitable End drops on November 10th via Dog Triumph, and the band state it will be the last, although not the end of the pair musically speaking.  “We feel like this is a goodbye to the traditional album format,” explains Svein. “In our consecutive run of albums, we have been able to say what we want to say and do what we want to do with the LP. We’re not going to stop making music, but the album format as such, this is the last thing from us.” 


From it the band have released the opening track on the album, Skulls. It has something of the Kraftwerk about the opening, and there’s something wonderous about the chugging synths that makes it instantly irresistable. Its joined by increasingly active beats and dribbles of other synth lines, before the vocal comes in heavily disguised, and delivers this on this engaging, if robotic, melody. 

Check it out, here

Previous Album Review : Z - Visions of Dune
Next New Music: 18+ - All the Time

No Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.