See: Black Submarine release “Here So Rain” video

This was a very, very nice surprise. Black Submarine, previously known as The Black Ships until mid-2012, were formed in November 2008 by former Verve members Nick McCabe and Simon Jones, Coldplay/Goldfrapp collaborator Davide Rossi, singer Amelia Tucker and drummer Mig Schillace. Quite an illustrious lineage. And does the sum total of the parts amount to anything as impressive? I think so.

This is their new release “Here So Rain”, a gorgeous slice of classic indie rock tinged with the reverb-soaked, tremolo-driven drones redolent of The Verve, liberally sprinkled with the angelic, aching voice of Amelia Tucker on a rock of jagged, angular guitars and strings. Lovely.

Their new album, “New Shores” has just been released in the UK and will be out in the US in March. I very much hope to get a chance to review this. This follows the release of their debut EP called “The Kurofone” in May, 2011 which I will certainly follow up.

Previous Track: The Preatures "Better Than It Could Ever Be"
Next A Buyers Guide to The Wonder Stuff 1988 - 1994

No Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.