News: Sam Burton set to release new album in July

Phot credit Jason Boll

Los Angeles-based singer Sam Burton will release his forthcoming album ‘Dear Departed’ on July 14th via Partisan Records, his debut for the label (IDLES, Fontaines DC, Beth Orton, Fela Kuti). To coincide with the announcement, Burton has shared the album’s gorgeous lead single, “Long Way Around” and its accompanying lyric video. Produced by Jonathan Wilson (Angel Olsen, Father John Misty, Margo Price), “Long Way Around” is full of smouldering melodies that meet again and again with ripples of piano and swells of orchestration – headlined by Sam’s evocative, velvet-lined vocals.

For Burton, ‘Dear Departed’ arose from a time of rebirth. In the last few years, the LA-based singer basically started over. He temporarily abandoned the life he’d built in LA to live in Utah where he grew up, moving again to hole up in a cabin on a rural northern California farm. Sam describes the album as being wracked with pain and loss, and he spends much of the time saying goodbye to a version of himself.

1. Pale Blue Night
2. I Don’t Blame You
3. Long Way Around
4. Coming Down On Me
5. Empty Handed
6. Maria
7. I Go To Sleep
8. Looking Back Again
9. My Love
10. A Place To Stay

Previous News: Bleach Lab announce double Irish headline shows
Next News: Ghost announce new EP 'Phantomime'

No Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.