News: Verve Records pay tribute to The Velvet Underground and Nico’s seminal album, with tracks from Fontaine’s D.C., Courtney Barnett, Iggy Pop, Kurt Vile and Sharon Van Etten

The Velvet Underground are of course every indie music fan’s favourite band – the band that launched a thousand musical careers. A new tribute album from Verve Records, ‘I’ll Be Your Mirror: A Tribute to the Velvet Underground & Nico’ with tracks from Iggy Pop & Matt Sweeney, St. Vincent & Thomas Bartlett, Sharon Van Etten (with additional vocals by Angel Olsen) and more, is set for release on September 24. 

The record’s debut track, a version of “Run Run Run” by Kurt Vile & The Violators, is out today; you can listen to ‘Run Run Run’ and pre-order the album here:

Vile’s version is transfixing, capturing the mesmerising drone of the original. He says of his version;

I literally covered Run Run Run when I was a kid. In my late teens with my band at the time. So it was pretty cosmic, let’s say. There is a direct connection to certain indie bands and beyond w/ the The Velvet Underground. That’s why The Velvet Underground are a classic. You know it can have doo-wop in there and things like that, but it can also have this jagged noisy thing, and it immediately let me feel like I could do anything. The possibilities are endless. You’re completely free. Unapologetic and effortless.

I’ll Be Your Mirror: A Tribute to the Velvet Underground & Nico Tracklist

1. Sunday Morning – Michael Stipe (3:50)
2. I’m Waiting For The Man – Matt Berninger (3:44)
3. Femme Fatale – Sharon Van Etten (w/ Angel Olsen on backing vocals) (4:43)
4. Venus In Furs – Andrew Bird & Lucius (6:55)
5. Run Run Run – Kurt Vile & The Violators (6:59)
6. All Tomorrow’s Parties – St. Vincent & Thomas Bartlett (4:52)
7. Heroin– Thurston Moore feat. Bobby Gillespie (7:24)
8. There She Goes Again – King Princess (3:29)
9. I’ll Be Your Mirror – Courtney Barnett (2:27)
10. The Black Angel’s Death Song – Fontaines D.C. (3:12)
11. European Son – Iggy Pop & Matt Sweeney (7:45)

Previous Premiere: East Londoner HUXLXY sets his sights on 'More' as he trails forthcoming new EP
Next Premiere: Australia's Aodhan reveals a dreamy slice of antipodean indie pop with title single 'Flies In My Room' from his new EP

No Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.