Indie legends James have announced an arena tour for 2016 promoting their 14th studio album  Girl At The End Of The World.

As well as their string of massive hit singles, including indie disco classic Sit Down, Come Home, She’s A Star and Born of Frustration, years of touring has turned them into a tight live outfit fronted by the freaky dancing of vocalist Tim Booth.

Since Anthony H Wilson signed them to Factory Records in 1982 they have sold 13 million albums worldwide and 32 years on they say the new record is their best yet.

Girl At The End Of The World sees the band team up with producer Killers and Muse producer Max Dingel joined by the legendary Brian Eno infusing his unique influence into the blend. The new album is both anthemic and euphoric, with its simmering electronica continuing James’ long connection to the dance floor.

“Bands talk about that difficult second album but it’s the trickster 14th one that’s the real motherfucker,” says Tim Booth of the making of the new record. “As always with James it’s a collaborative process allowing ample room for improvisation, intuition, skill and dumb luck.”

“From the outside our process looks like chaos, but chaos is our friend, and we have a history that gives us confidence that something magical will eventually appear. Most of my best lyrics are unconscious typos so don¹t ask me what it’s about; your projection is as good as mine.

“This was perhaps the most difficult and stressful album we have ever made. I hope you find it as rewarding as we do. OYSTER- GRIT-PEARL.”

The Girl At The End Of The World Tour spans the UK, including a giant hometown show at Manchester Arena, a night at Leeds Arena and three smaller London dates:

Wednesday 4th May London O2 Shepherds Bush Empire
Friday 6th May London Forum
Saturday 7th May London O2 Academy Brixton
Monday 2nd May Bristol Colston Hall
Tuesday 3rd May Southend Cliffs Pavilion
Monday 9th May Norwich UEA
Tuesday 10th May Bournemouth O2 Academy
Thursday 12th May Llandudno Venue Cymru Arena
Friday 13th May Manchester Arena
Saturday 14th May Leeds First Direct Arena
Monday 16th May Hull City Hall
Tuesday 17th May Newcastle City Hall
Thursday 19th May Glasgow The SSE Hydro
Friday 20th May Birmingham Barclaycard Arena
Saturday 21st May Nottingham Royal Concert Hall

Tickets go on general sale 9.30am at Friday 20 November at www.gigsandtours.com / 0844 811 0051 / wwww.ticketmaster.co.uk / 08448 24 48 24. More info at www.wearejames.com