Track: Live reveal from Danish black metal act, Solbrud.

Today, black metal boundary-pushers Solbrud reveal a new live video of “Øde Lagt.” The track is the first to be revealed from a special audio/visual live album, Levende I Brønshøj Vandtårn, set for international release on March 26th via Eisenwald.

Since their formation in 2009, Danish black metal act Solbrud have forged melodic and evocative compositions in raw, storm-like, and atmospheric soundscapes. Their self-titled debut album was released in 2012, and in 2014, the infernal Jærtegn followed, displaying a natural sense for complex songwriting that was further cultivated on Vemod in 2017. All three albums and the quartet’s intense live performances have consolidated Solbrud as a band with a special, artistic vision unfolding in uncompromising and boundary-pushing black metal.

Solbrud are also known for performing at unique locations, with special care for lights and props, which now results in Levende I Brønshøj Vandtårn, a carefully curated live double-album and video. All tracks were recorded inside Brønshøj Water Tower in Copenhagen at two totally sold-out nights. The tower is known for its brutalist architecture and unique acoustics – 15 seconds of natural reverb, which creates a fitting atmospheric backdrop for the monumental sound of the band. On top of that, the tower was freezing cold, amplifying the nature of the music.

Levende I Brønshøj Vandtårn consists of eight tracks, including songs from all three previous Solbrud studio albums. Some songs have been rearranged and woven together, taking the special acoustics into account, while others blast through in their original form. In addition to their set, the new song “Sjæleskrig” was added to their setlist, which resonates hauntingly in the great tower’s reverberance.

Along with the audio part, the entire concert was also captured on film – and the video footage is included as a DVD on both the vinyl and CD releases of Levende I Brønshøj Vandtårn. Apart from the impressive cover shots, the release also includes a booklet with photographs from the concert inside the tower.

Levende I Brønshøj Vandtår was recorded on November 23rd and 24th, 2019. Mixing was handled by Marcus Ferreira Larsen (vocalist, Demon Head) and mastered by Flemming Rasmussen (Metallica, Morbid Angel, Rainbow, etc.) at Sweet Silence Studios.

In other Solbrud news, while the band was supposed to go on a European tour with UADA in April 2020 and March 2021, both of which were cancelled due to the Covid-19 pandemic, they are currently working on their fourth studio album, which is planned for release in 2022.

Preorder info for Levende I Brønshøj Vandtårn to be announced shortly. Cover and tracklisting are as follows:

Tracklisting for Solbrud’s Levende I Brønshøj Vandtårn
1. Øde Lagt [11:28]
2. Skygge [2:25]
3. Menneske [2:19]
4. Sortedøden [11:48]
5. Klippemennesket [13:05]
6. Bortgang [11:56]
7. Sjæleskrig [8:07] (new song!)
8. Besat af Mørke [8:22]


Previous See: Rolling Blackouts Coastal Fever release playful video for 'The Only One' and announce tour news
Next TRACK: The Damn Straights - 'Blow It Up': one minute fifty-eight of lyrical fire

No Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.