Last month, Phoebe Bridgers confirmed details of her second solo album, Punisher, to be released via Dead Oceans on June 19th 2020.Today, she shares another song from the album. Originally entitled “ICU” the song’s spelling has been changed to “I See You” for its release on digital platforms. Bridgers explains the title change with: “*gestures at entire world*”. 

Says Bridgers of “I See You”, “It’s about my breakup with my drummer. We dated for a few years, made music every day, and were extremely codependent. We became like family to each other, so our breakup was extremely tough. But if this tells you anything about our relationship, we wrote this song together, just like everything else.” 

You can’t escape that beautiful voice over slightly muted strummed guitar. The lyrics are heartbreaking, “I used to light you up. Now I can’t even get you to play the drums. ‘Cause I don’t know what I want. Until I fuck it up” but there’s a sense of hope behind the music. A slight joy in the drum beat. Her ability to write honestly, is one of her must attractive skills. Couple that with her ability to sing so emotively and we have a shining star in the musical world.

Check it out, here.

Bridgers has also announced plans for a “Phoebe Bridgers’ World, Tour” – to kick off on May 26th 2020 with a livestream performance from her kitchen and running until June 6th with a show from her bed. Bridgers’ previous touring plans, which included opening for The 1975 in arenas across America, were shelved due to the Covid-19 pandemic. All dates are listed below.

“Phoebe Bridgers’ World, Tour” dates in full

May 26th @ KITCHEN w/ Hooligan Magazine: 5pm PST / 8pm EST / 1am UK May 27th (#HooliganHangouts) 

May 28th @ BATHROOM w/ Noisey / Vice: 5pm PST / 8pm EST / 1am UK May 29th (Noisey Night In)

June 4th @ BED w/ DIY Magazine: 7pm UK (DIYsolation)

June 6th @ BED – Time TBD