System OF A Down have been lacking in new material for a while now with various members taking time to pursue there own musical interests. Serge and Daron both releasing original material since 2005’s  Mezmerize  and  Hypnotize albums. Drummer John Dolmayan has been working on reimagining some well known tracks since the idea came to him in 2014. Radiohead’s Street Spirit is the first song to surface featuring Avenge Sevenfold’s M. Shadows and Tom Morello. 

They have taking the atmospheric anthem into something heavier as John was quoted saying “This song in particular is a really touching and moving song. I love the morose, in-your-room-and-it’s-raining-outside, it’s cold, and your girlfriend dumped you feeling that this song always gave me.… But when I listened to it, I’d be like, ‘I kinda wish the drums came in earlier,’ or, ‘How would [John] Bonham approach this song if this was a [Led] Zeppelin song?’

It’s what you would expect. Paying homage to the original but presenting the song in a new light. It’s well controlled and well produced, the drums sounding particularly crisp as does the opening guitar. Feels like its very much a collection of master musicians. Each bringing something to the track and you can really sense the experience and talent. 

Check it out, here. 

These Grey Men’s album is expected to drop 28th February

Track listing

1. “Hung Up” (a mashup of Madonna’s song, with original edits and a tip of the hat to “Ohio” by Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young)
2. “Street Spirit” (Radiohead)
3. “Beautiful Thieves” (AFI)
4. “Road To Nowhere” (Talking Heads)
5. “Rock Bottom” (Eminem)
6. “Runaway” (Del Shannon)
7. “Starman” (David Bowie)
8. “What You Know” (Two Door Cinema Club)

Previous Live: The Lost Tapes/ Reservoir, Le Garage, Liège, Belgium
Next Track: Nick Byrne - Houses

No Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.