Track: Whores Cover AC\DC’s Have A Drink On Me feat Mastodon’s Bill Kelliher For Magnetic Eye Redux Series

The Magnetic Eye [Redux] Series features hand-picked classic albums from across the history of rock and metal, re-imagined by artists from throughout the rock and metal world who are tasked to select a track to make their own.

On the first single from the forthcoming installment, AC/DC’s Back in Black, Atlanta’s Whores are joined by Mastodon co-founder Bill Kelliher for their sludgy, stomping take on the AC/DC cover ‘Have a Drink on Me’. 

Christian Lembach comments:

“I grew up listening to AC/DC, like everyone else”,

writes the Whores vocalist and guitarist.

“They were one of the first bands I heard that felt like a real rock and roll band, totally divorced from artifice. I still listen to them regularly, and we start every tour with ‘It’s a Long Way to the Top (If You Wanna Rock ‘n’ Roll)’ because it’s true. AC/DC are one of the most important bands in my life. I was a little concerned with the song that we covered, because it’s very different from our style. We just asked ourselves, ‘What would Harvey Milk do?’. It was pretty easy after that.”

Almost a carbon copy heavy sludgier cut making the songs addictive riff into a grinding hard edged monster. The guys have slow things down and you can the sense of joy the band have in playing the track.

Check it out, here

The album is available here

Find out more via the bands Facebook or Magnetic Eye’s Facebook

1. Hells Bells – RED FANG
2. Shoot to Thrill – HOWLING GIANT feat. Udo Dirkschneider
3. What Do You Do for Money Honey – SUPERSUCKERS
4. Givin the Dog a Bone – SMOKING LIGHTNING
5. Let Me Put My Love into You – HEAVY TEMPLE feat. Valient Himself
6. Back in Black – BESVÄRJELSEN
7. You Shook Me All Night Long – JAKETHEHAWK feat. Patrick Waters
8. Have a Drink on Me – WHORES feat. Bill Kelliher
9. Shake a Leg – EARLY MAN
10. Rock and Roll Ain’t Noise Pollution – EARTHRIDE

Previous See: Cradle Of Filth - Necromantic Fantasies
Next Track: Fleeting Persuasion unveil the atmospheric and brooding track 'Eternal'.

No Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.