Droppin’ Knowledge: Reggae Icon Buju Banton Shares New Single – Listen

Reggae and Dancehall icon Buju Banton has shared a new song from his forthcoming album, Upside Down, his first, full-length studio album in ten years. The single, “Blessed,” is the fourth song from the album to drop. According to the press release accompanying news of the new album, Banton says we “must find the light, even in these dark times.” On May 8th, Banton dropped another track from the album, “Memories,” which features John Legend.

The Grammy-winning artist’s new album features collaborations with Stephen Marley, Pharrell and Stefflon Don, and he still possesses one of the most distinctive voices in popular music. In 2010, Banton released Before The Dawn. Since returning to the music scene, Banton has signed with Roc Nation, and subsequently released the songs “Steppa” and “Trust.”

Upside Down track list:

01. Lamb of God 
02. Yes Mi Friend, featuring Stephen Marley 
03. Buried Alive 
04. Blessed
05. Memories, featuring John Legend 
06. Lovely State of Mind
07. Appreciated
08. Trust
09. Cherry Pie, featuring Pharrell 
10. Beat Dem Bad 
11.Good Time Girl 
12. Call Me, featuring Stefflon Don 
13. Moolight Love 
14. Cheated
15. Steppa
16. The World Is Changing 
17. 400 Years 
18. Rising Up 
19. Helping Hand 
20. Unity
Previous SEE: Sally Anne Morgan spins fine Appalachian Thread for Thrill Jockey
Next SEE: The Close Lobsters have still got the guitar shimmer nailed - 'Godless'

No Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.