Hull’s four-piece Let Man Loose return with their second EP release, aptly titled ‘Vol.2’. With lashings of sleaze and glamour, the four tracks have reverberations of Arctic Monkey’s ‘Tranquility Base Hotel & Casino’ if it were brought right down to earth. The instrumentals bite: look no further than ‘Queen Bee’ to see the way Let Man Loose take command over dissonance. Riffs leap from an attack of drum beats, culminating in a scream of feedback. ‘Fun House Mirror’ teeters on the brink of punk, with its taunting refrains and nightmarish guitar sections. The vocals, particularly on ‘At Close Quarters’ and ‘This Man’s Ruin’ are like silk and almost Turner-esque, in the way he manages to let every syllable linger for a little longer. Let Man Loose’s lyrics have stepped up. Marc Ainley croons, “You’re the ghost on the settee / You’re the devil in the details”; a perfect example of the seedy sumptuousness they evoke, where words like “settee” seem to fit without question woven between strands of what’s no less than poetry.

Listen here: https://soundcloud.com/letmanloose/sets/vol-2

The release of ‘Vol. 2’ will be supported by the following live appearances:

04 / Humber Street Sesh / Hull
10 / Café INDIEpendent / Scunthorpe
18 / The Scream Lounge / Croydon
19 / The Finsbury / London
31 / Fox & Grapes / Nottingham

02 / The Big Boulder Festival / Sheffield
07 / The Polar Bear / Hull
25 / West Street Live / Sheffield
28 / The Monarch / Camden / London

06 / The Regency / Harrogate

Previous A Buyers Guide to Matt Berry on Acid Jazz
Next Film Review: The Apparition

No Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.