EP: Tommy Ashby Has Released A Rather Lovely EP ‘Everywhere Is Home’

Scottish singer-songwriter, Tommy Ashby, has released his three track EP ‘Everywhere Is Home’ out now via Wow and Flutter Records. Produced by the artist and double Grammy Award winning producer Sam Okell, ‘Everywhere Is Home’ includes the title track of the same name and previous singles ‘Blood Wolf Moon’ and ‘One Word’.

The title track ‘Everywhere Is Home’ was co-written with artist/producer Karl Zine (RINNGS) and reflects on how it is our relationships that sustain us as humans and make us happy, a notion that has been made even more relevant during lockdown. Tommy said “I wrote this song after I’d just come back from touring in America where we had spent many a day driving long into the night and staying in lonely motels. I had been feeling homesick and started thinking about when you are with the right person then you don’t feel like that, anywhere you end up can be home, everything else is just stuff; we get obsessed with but isn’t really important.”

With a wonderfully light and soft voice and some of the finest bass I’ve heard in a while during the chorus, ‘Everywhere Is Home’ is a track that grows and grows. The melodic picked guitar is so damn addictive.

Blood Wolf Moon plays rolling folk guitar and sweet vocal harmonies with Tommies finest vocal take on this entire EP. Like a gentle stream flowing through a quiet woodland straight into ‘One Word’ which sounds more intimate and brings in his country influences with the lap steel guitar adding flourishes within the mix.

Altogether this is a wonderfully balanced and mixed EP. Tommy’s voice needs to be heard for its pure sweet innocence and ability to make you smile or break your heart.

Check out the single below:

Find out more about Tommy via his Website or Facebook

Tommy said “much of the EP was created during lockdown, I recorded a lot of the material myself, with the majority of communication happening over email. I worried at first that this might make things sterile but instead it has given ideas time to breathe and has left everything feeling very organic. It is also the first EP where I self-produced a song ‘Blood Wolf Moon’, which feels like a real milestone. With the current situation I think the more self sufficient you can be the better!”

Track Listing:

1. Everywhere is Home

2. Blood Wolf Moon

3. One Word

Previous Droppin' Knowledge: Cellus Hamilton Shares "Same War" - Listen
Next Track: Primitive Man Return To Scare Us All With Track 'Entity' Taken From New Album Immersion

1 Comment

  1. August 4, 2020

    Pure sugar…

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.