New Music: Felt Tip EP “Simple Things”

We’ve already been impressed by the angular sounds of Felt Tip on their single “Milk and Honey” released in January of this year. Their debut EP “Simple Things” is being released through Fierce Panda on 9 June.

Containing four tracks, the EP opens with a wistful “Simple Things”, a clattering song with a funky cowbell beat and an intermittent enigmatic whistle.

On the EP, “Cruel to be Kind” is a more upbeat song with a muted thrub of instruments in the verse and a jangling chorus. I can’t help be reminded of one of my favourite bands from the mid nineties, Gene, in the vocal style of James Tyler (with a touch of Morrissey).

“No Idea”is a poppy jaunty song with its interweaving vocals and thundering rhythm. The EP closes with “Don’t Ever”, very reminiscent of The Smiths with its sparkling guitar and heartfelt singing, but this is not a pastiche, it is a style that is most welcome, a return of the classic British indie guitar music I love.

This is an epic EP: it has all the hallmarks of  a brilliant band with a huge future, combining danceable indie rock with sensitivity and emotion. Very much redolent of a number of eighties indie giants such as Orange Juice and Prefab Sprout. Their influences are clear, but their style is unique.

Felt Tip are:

Tom Rapanakis – drums,

Anton Trampon – guitar,

James Tyler – vocals,

Jade Spranklen – bass

Check in at Fierce Panda for details on getting the EP. Because you really should.

Previous See: Leon of Athens release video for Baby Asteroid
Next New Music: Kelis - Rumble (Actress Remix)

No Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.