Track: Polyenso – 17 New Years

“Everyone has a light and a darkness inside them. For us it comes out in our music,” reflects Alex Schultz, of Florida trio Polenso about their forthcoming second album.. “Dichotomy is a huge theme in this record. Head and heart, gluttony and apathy, and love and hate are some of the obvious ones.”

The St. Petersburg, FL three piece recorded the new album, titled Pure in the Plastic was recorded in the bands hometown over a period lasting two years, and has been produced by Jason Pennock via a huge array of influences including Flying Lotus, J Dilla, James Blake, and Q-Tip. The band have released a video of a live studio performance of the opening track from the album, 17 New Years. Its awash with harmonies and swwping melody lines. Underneath, it clicks and bubbles away, and while the funk may be subdued – its still there.

Check it out, here

The band have also announced a slot during this year’s Shaky Knees Festival in Atlanta, GA the weekend of May 13-15th, and a free show in Nashville at The Basement East on January 27th.

Previous DVD Review: The Ninja Trilogy
Next Album Review: The Anchoress - Confessions Of A Romance Novelist

No Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.