News: Eels Share New Festive Single And Announce Compilation Album ‘EELS So Good: Essential EELS, Vol.2’

Rocky Schenck

Critically acclaimed rock group EELS release their brand new Christmas track, “Christmas, Why You Gotta Do Me Like This”, out now via E Works/[PIAS]. An alternative yuletide ballad with a traditionally morose, EELS twist, the song is a tale of unrequited love at Christmas time.

Principal singer-songwriter E / Mark Oliver Everett says, “I mean, seriously. Haven’t I always been good to you, Christmas? Enough with the coal in my stocking. For fuck’s sake.”

The song follows the band’s previous festive offerings ‘Everything’s Gonna Be Cool This Christmas’ and ‘Christmas is Going to the Dogs’.“Everyone should have at least three Christmas songs in their catalogue”, says E. “I’m sorry it took me so long.”

Listen to ‘Christmas, Why You Gotta Do Me Like This’, below:

“Christmas, Why You Gotta Do Me Like This” will appear on EELS’ upcoming compilation album, EELS So Good: Essential EELS, Vol.2 out on December 15 via E Works/[PIAS].

Spanning over 15 years, seven studio albums and featuring some of EELS best loved songs, the album includes hits such as ‘Fresh Blood’ and ‘That Look You Gave That Guy’, new favourites from 2020’s ‘Earth To Dora’, as well as three previously unreleased tracks and five that are being pressed to vinyl for the very first time, including ‘Royal Pain’ from the motion picture Shrek The Third, and ‘Man Up’ from the official soundtrack of ‘Yes Man’.

EELS have had one of the most consistently acclaimed careers in music. The ever-changing project of principal singer/songwriter E (Mark Oliver Everett), EELS have released 14 studio albums since their 1996 debut, Beautiful Freak. In 2008 E published his highly acclaimed book Things the Grandchildren Should Know and starred in the award-winning Parallel Worlds, Parallel Lives documentary about the search to understand his quantum physicist father, Hugh Everett III.

EELS So Good: Essential EELS, Vol.2 Tracklisting:

  1. Fresh Blood     
  2. That Look You Give That Guy    
  3. A Line in the Dirt           
  4. Little Bird         
  5. Spectacular Girl
  6. I Like the Way This Is Going       
  7. Peach Blossom
  8. Wonderful, Glorious    
  9. Where I’m From            
  10. Mistakes of My Youth  
  11. The Deconstruction      
  12. Today Is the Day            
  13. You Are the Shining Light           
  14. Are We Alright Again    
  15. Earth to Dora  
  16. Royal Pain [from the motion picture Shrek The Third (first time on vinyl)]
  17. Man Up [from the motion picture Yes Man (first time on vinyl)]
  18. Man I Keep Trying [from the motion picture Prisoner’s Daughter (previously unreleased)]
  19. Jazz Hands, Part I (previously unreleased)          
  20. Christmas, Why You Gotta Do Me Like This (previously unreleased)     
Previous News: Mando Diao Share New Single and Announces London Show As Part Of European Tour
Next News: Shelf Lives Announce Debut Headline EU Tour For March 2024

No Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.