News: Magnolia Park announce new album ‘Baku’s Revenge’

Photo Credit: Jessica Griffith

Orlando-based band Magnolia Park is thrilled to announce their debut album ‘Baku’s Revenge’ slated for release on November 4th. 

Under the guidance of producer Andrew Wade (A Day To Remember, Wage War) they combine elements of punk, pop and hip-hop teeming with catchy melodies, massive guitar hooks and cutting-edge production. At times lighthearted, the band is also serious about spreading a message of inclusivity and inspiring kids who look like them to start bands as a form of creative expression.

Today they share a new single from the album – “Misfits” – which features guest vocals from singer Taylor Acorn. Taking cues from early/mid-2000s alternative acts, the track is complete with thundering distorted guitars, a dynamic drum pattern and screamo vocals that precede a breakdown as heavy as they come.

Since forming in 2019, the ethnically diverse six-piece act— frontman Joshua Roberts, guitarists Tristan Torres and Freddie Criales (FRED), bassist Jared Kay, drummer Joe Horsham and keyboardist Vincent Ernst—have released an EP, mixtape and handful of singles. They’ve been on a non-stop schedule of touring with everyone from Sum 41 to Simple Plan, currently on a U.S. tour with A Day To Remember and The Used.

With pop-punk icons as mentors, it’s clear that all their time invested on the road has helped further develop their sound. While their Heart Eater EP (2022) was recorded in a week, the band had much more time to finetune the songs for ‘Baku’s Revenge’— In fact within the span of a month the band wrote 30 songs for the album before fleshing them out with Andrew Wade who helped the guys “trim the fat and think about what we’re trying to say” according to Tristan Torres. 

This attention to detail is evident on Baku’s Revenge, through dynamic vocal performances the band addresses depression and mental health, toxic relationships, as well as their own experiences with institutional racism. With songs as thought-provoking as they are accessible, the band members’ lived experiences are present in every second of the 24 minutes that make up the album.

“I think when [listening] to the messages in our songs and seeing the videos, you see that we’re more than a playful pop-punk band,” says bassist Jared Kay. “We can have a good time and be silly, but we also show that there are some serious real-world problems going on in the world that we want to address and expose.”

Through their music, Magnolia Park create shared experiences with their listeners that cement them as fans for life, already achieving milestones in their career with over 28 Million catalogue streams to date, 600k+ monthly Spotify listeners and 45M views on their viral Tik-Tok page. Their unique brand of upbeat pop-punk has been celebrated by outlets like Kerrang!, Alternative Press, Afropunk, MTV News, and Brooklyn Vegan, hailed by the latter as one of the “best bands bringing the mainstream pop-punk revival sound back right now.”

Baku’s Revenge TrackList

1. ? 

2. Feel Something (feat. Derek Sanders) 

3. Misfits (feat. Taylor Acorn) 

4. Radio Reject 

5. !! 

6. Drugs 

7. Paralyzed

8. Addison Rae

9. Ghost 2 U (feat. FRED & Joshua Roberts) 

10. $$$ 

11. I should’ve listened to my friends

Previous Film Review: Piggy
Next News: Preview - As December Falls, UK headline tour starts this week!

No Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.