Track: Roddy Frame – Forty days of fame, plus new album news

Scottish songsmith Roddy Frame is back in the album business, with a new LP set for release in May.  Three records on from Aztec Camera’s last, Frestonia in 1995, “Seven Dials” marks Frame’s first foray since 2006’s “Western Skies”.

Named after the Covent Garden junction in London (it’s swanky – and fun to watch tourists struggling with as some of the seven roads enter the junction, and some of them exit it), “Seven Dials” is released on 5 May on Analogue Enhanced Digital records. Available on CD, download and on gatefold 180g vinyl, the track listing of the album is as follows:

1. White Pony
2. Postcards
3. Into the Sun
4. Rear View Mirror
5. In Orbit
6. Forty Days Of Rain
7. English Gardens
8. On The Waves
9. The Other Side
10. From A Train

Accompanying the record, Roddy will be playing at the Shepherd’s Bush Empire on 22 May.  In the meantime, to whet your whistles, you can listen to track 6 from the album below.  It’s not “Somewhere in your heart” (but let’s be fair, few people get to write even one song that good in their lifetime) but it’s a solid piece of folk-inflected pop that also reminded me of another such stalwart, Boo Hewerdine…

Previous DVD Review: Wake in Fright (Masters of Cinema)
Next See: Ming City Rockers release new video for Twist It

No Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.