After a five year hiatus, Liverpool’s The Coral return with a new album, a tour and a new member. Their eighth album, Distance Inbetween, is out on March 4th via Ignition Records. The follow up to 2010’s Butterfly House, it was recorded in Liverpools Parr Street Studios with co-producer Richard Turvey, where the band worked sparingly, recording most of the tracks in just one take to give the record a purposely roughly hewn feel. As singer/guitarist explains “Before we started making the album we had discussed that we wanted it to be more minimal and rhythmical. We thought ‘if you’ve got a rhythm section that’s been playing together for almost twenty years, why not make that the centre of the songs?’”

The band dedicated the reocd to their former mentor and head of Deltasonic (their previous label) who died tragically in 2014. The band have also announced that guitarist Paul Molloy, formerly of The Zutons, has joined them. “Paul was playing with Ian in their band, Serpent Power, and we’d all been mates with him for years,” says James. “We already had a couple of tunes recorded and Ian suggested Paul add some guitar. His parts really enhanced the tracks; he understood where he needed to leave space. From that point we didn’t look back. We had a full line-up and were confident we could make an album that would stand next to the others.”

Watch a teaser video about the record, here

The band have also revealed a fairly comprehensive UK and European tour, including a headlining spot at their hometown Liverpool Sound City, that kicks off in March. Tickets go on sale today.

The Coral UK & European Tour 2016:

Fri 4th March Newcastle Riverside
Sat 5th March Glasgow O2 ABC
Mon 7th March Leeds Brudenell Social Club
Tues 8th March Nottingham Rescue Rooms
Thurs 10th March Birmingham O2 Institute2
Fri 11th March Sheffield Leadmill
Sat 12th March Manchester Albert Hall
Tues 15th March Oxford O2 Academy 2
Wed 16th March London O2 Shepherd’s Bush Empire

Fri 8th April Amsterdam Melkweg
Sat 9th April Cologne Luxor
Sun 10th April Hamburg Knust
Tues 12th April Berlin Lido

Sun 29th May Liverpool Sound City – Headline show

http://www.thecoral.co.uk.