NEWS: The Lounge Society release new single ‘No Driver’ from debut album Tired of Liberty set for release 26 August via Speedy Wunderground and confirm extensive UK and European tour

The four band members of The Lounge Society
Credit: Alex Evans

Hebden Bridge’s The Lounge Society have released new track ‘No Driver‘. It follows ‘Blood Money‘ the lead single from their debut album Tired of Liberty which is set for release on 26 August via Dan Carey’s Speedy Wunderground label. The Lounge Society released the EP Silk For The Starving last year and with music this good it was only a matter of time before their debut album was recorded. They have a sonic style all of their own and are unafraid to include unpredictable segments within their songs. ‘No Driver‘ is no exception. Only here the pace is furious. Previous singles have had an outward focus, on the state of the nation or even closer to home with commentary on society. However there is a shift inward here with a reflection on the human condition: “The Black Dog lures you. / The Black Dog knows you.”

The band explains further:
“’No Driver’ is the sound of the human mind reaching breaking point – of finally letting go of the wheel because you just don’t care what happens anymore. This brings a powerful feeling of freedom and hedonism that we’ve distilled into a rock and roll song. It’s a huge sonic leap forward for us, and both on stage and on record it’s THE ONE that gets us going, that we pour our hearts into. We’ll play ‘No Driver’ until our fingers bleed.

Musically this song is an amalgamation of several very different melodies and rhythms which shouldn’t really work together at all but somehow they all slot perfectly into place to create what we think is a powerful piece of music. When we play this song live together, it is us four letting the music take over us and that’s what carries the track.”

The Lounge Society have been added to the supports for The Strokes gig at Lytham Festival on Friday 7 July, opening ahead of Fontaines D.C. and Wet Leg.

The Lounge Society 2022 UK & EU headline tour dates

24 Sept – Float Along Festival, Sheffield, UK
25 Sept – Bodega, Nottingham, UK
26 Sept – Broadcast, Glasgow, UK
27 Sept – Sneaky Petes, Edinburgh, UK
29 Sept – Brudenell, Leeds, UK
30 Sept – Gorilla, Manchester, UK
02 Oct – Patterns, Brighton, UK
04 Oct – Village Underground, London, UK
06 Oct – Joiners, Southampton, UK
07 Oct – Trades Club, Hebden Bridge, UK
08 Oct – Trades Club, Hebden Bridge, UK (SOLD OUT)
15 Oct – Future Days at The Crossing, Birmingham, UK
18 Oct – Point Ephemere with MUSH, Paris, FR
25 Oct – Buhmann & Sohn, Cologne, DE
26 Oct – Molotow (Skybar), Hamburg, DE 
27 Oct – Kantine am Berghain, Berlin, DE
30 Oct – Rotown, Rotterdam, NL
01 Nov – Merlyeyn, Nijmegen, NL
02 Nov – Witloofbar @ Botanique, Brussels, BE

For more information on The Lounge Society please check out their facebook and twitter.
Debut album Tired of Liberty is set for release on 26 August via Speedy Wunderground.

Previous TRACK: Blush Club release new single 'Ornamental Ponds', title track from new EP set for release in September
Next NEWS: STRAY FROM THE PATH announce intimate tour to promote album release

No Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.