News: Veil of Maya drop new album ‘[m]other’

Genre-bending metal powerhouse VEIL OF MAYA have dropped their brand new full-length album [m]other, out today via Sumerian Records. To celebrate the release, they’ve also shared the album’s focus track and accompanying fun music video, ‘Disco Kill Party’.

Watch the music video for ‘Disco Kill Party’ below:

Disco Kill Party‘ follows the release of previous singles ‘Mother Pt. 4‘, ‘Red Fur‘, ‘Godhead‘, and ‘Synthwave Vegan‘, tracks of which are featured on the new album.

By channeling energy in one direction, force grows exponentially. VEIL OF MAYA harness the individual experiences and talents of four distinct musicians—Marc Okubo [guitar], Sam Applebaum [drums], Danny Hauser [bass], and Lukas Magyar [vocals]—into airtight groove-laden metal accented by fits of instrumental virtuosity and vocal catharsis. This approach has endeared them to a devout fan base with critical acclaim and over 100 million total streams and counting (unprecedented for an outfit this crushingly heavy). The Chicago band draw on the strength of their union on their seventh full-length offering, [m]other (Sumerian Records).

VEIL OF MAYA have consistently pushed the boundaries of heavy music by pushing themselves collectively. 2015’s Matriarch made major waves, crashing the Billboard US Hard Rock Albums Chart at #2 powered by ‘Aeris’, ‘LeeLoo’, and ‘Mikasa’. The latter has gathered over 25.4 million Spotify streams and counting. In 2017, False Idol saw the band return to the Top 3 of the Hard Rock Albums Chart as ‘Overthrow’ and ‘Doublespeak’ each eclipsed 8 million-plus Spotify streams apiece. The record also incited the applause of LoudWire, Substream Magazine, Metal Hammer, and Invisible Oranges who raved, “False Idol is undeniably Veil of Maya: greatly contrasting the band’s past, it serves as a companion and booster for their older work.”

Simultaneously, they toured alongside Animals As Leaders, Upon A Burning Body, Chelsea Grin, Oceans Ate Alaska, and more. In the midst of the Pandemic, they dropped ‘Outsider’, ‘Viscera’, and ‘Outrun’. The Chicago band now draw on the strength of their union on their seventh full-length offering, [m]other (Sumerian Records). In short, this is VEIL OF MAYA at their collective best. Speaking on his hopes for the band’s brand new opus, guitarist, Marc Okubo shares:
“I hope you’re inspired to listen to this again and again. Maybe you’ll hone in on the little details as you go further, and it will musically become a cinematic experience.”

[m]other – Album Artwork Track Listing:

1. Tokyo Chainsaw

2. Artificial Dose

3. Godhead

4. [re]connect

5. Red Fur

6. Disco Kill Party

7. Mother Pt. 4

8. Synthwave Vegan

9. Lost Creator

10. Death Runner

Order [m]otherhere.

Previous News: Sunny Sweeney to play Dublin's The Workmans Club Cellar
Next News: Tokky Horror release new EP 'Kappacore'

No Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.