Premiere: The Black Lamps – The Archivist

Today, here at Backseat Mafia, we bring you the premiere of ‘The Archivist’, the opening track from The Black Lamps self titled debut long player, out on January 12th via Of National Importance Records. The band, Greg Firth (bass), Dean Ormston (drums), Lyndon Scarfe (guitars and keyboards) and Liam Stewart (vocals and guitars) have previously served time in bands including Creatures of Habit, The Danse Society, Party Day, The Second Coming, Silent Scream and This Colossal Youth. They’ve been together a while, first releasing the single ‘Scissors, Paper, Stone’ on a split 7” with the now defunct Imoko Set through Stereomatic Records in 2011. Since then though they’ve spent the time honing skills and songs, and preparing their alt/post rock chops for the album release.
‘The Activist’ opens up the record in some style. Growing out a this little synth seed, it gently unfurls with the addition of guitars and drums, before it grows into this brooding indie pop, the echoeing, slightly melancholy vocals only adding to the feeling. Added to that though are swathes of fuzz and noise which almost take over towards the end, and make it something special. Roll on January.

The Black Lamps is available to pre-order now from on CD, digital and 12” red vinyl formats. Track four, The Smoking Party, can be downloaded for free from

Previous See: Love Buzzard release "Give It Some Range" Video
Next Premiere: Fighting Caravans release video for "Bootmakers to the King"

No Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.