News: SICK JOY release debut album, ‘WE’RE ALL GONNA F***ING DIE’!

In tough times, music can be the way through. With an expertise in fuzzy riffs, melodic heaviness, high energy and sharp lyrics, Sick Joy are one of British rock’s most promising young bands. Today sees release of the roaring, fuzzy alt.rock explosion of their debut album, WE’RE ALL GONNA F***ING DIE.


Even Sick Joy’s start was a challenge to be beaten. Originally formed in Newcastle, the band soon relocated to Brighton in order to be part of a bigger music scene. That is, singer/guitarist Mykl Barton installed a bed in the back of the band’s van and lived and slept in there.

Quickly, though, the move began to pay off. Their Amateurs EP announced them as something exciting, with some describing them as straddling the melodic genius of Pixiesand the raw energy of Slipknot. Off the back of the EP, the band received huge support from BBC Radio 1, Kerrang! Radio and Radio X. Live, meanwhile, their shows with the likes of FeederDinosaur Pile-Up and Demob Happy fully demonstrated Sick Joy’s infectious vitality and power.

With Mykl saying that he can only really write about universal themes (“Everyone knows about love, sex, death, sadness”), despite its title, WE’RE ALL GONNA F***ING DIE, is a record that actually leans into a great deal of joy.

Featuring contributions from Jamie Lenman and Mykl’s own stepdad (lending a touch of harmonica to recent single ‘belly aching beast’), the album takes life’s gristle and turns it into something uplifting and euphoric. With a support to Pixies and Pearl Jam and an appearance at 2000 Trees on the calendar, it looks, fittingly, like the start of a happy chapter for Sick Joy.

“For me, that title’s a positive,” says Mykl. “I realised, ‘it’s going to be over one day, man. So do whatever the fuck you’re gonna do, and have a good fucking time. And I don’t mean just get loaded and be a dick. I mean do the things you want to do. Don’t let fear decide where you’re going to go. We’re all going to fucking die. So get out and fucking kill it, man.”


08 London, Hyde Park (w/ Pearl Jam)
09 Cheltenham, 2000 Trees Festival
21 Hastings, The Piper
22 Exeter, Cavern
23 Winchester, Railway Inn
24 Ramsgate, Music Hall
26 Preston, The New Continental
27 Darlington, The Forum
28 Sheffield, Record Junkee
29 Grimsby, Docks Academy
31 Chester, Alexanders Live

01 Swansea, Bunkhouse

1) don’t feel like dying
2) talking to the drugs
3) stay numb
4) deep dream
5) i’ve got more than i need (and i don’t have much)
6) alive on the inside
7) the blood & the bliss
8) rich hippies
9) belly aching beast (feat. Jamie Lenman)
10) sadisfaction
11) nothing better
12) ultimately

Listen Here

Previous News: WATERPARKS continue their highly-anticipated new era with 'SELF SABOTAGE'
Next Track: Standards - Cherry

No Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.