Track: Big Thief’s Adrianne Lenker’s releases new single, ‘Anything’; announces two new albums

Adrianne Lenker, member of the American rock band Big Thief, has announced the release of two new albums on October 23rd. The news is proceeded by Lenker sharing a new single, “Anything”. 

Entitled Songs and Instrumentals, the albums are two distinct collections, both written and recorded in April after Big Thief’s March tour was abruptly cut short due to coronavirus. After returning to the US from Europe, Lenker decamped to a one-room cabin in the mountains of western Massachusetts. 

“I grew really connected to the space itself,” says Lenker. “The one room cabin felt like the inside of an acoustic guitar — it was such a joy to hear the notes reverberate in the space.”

With a hankering to capture the feel of the space, Lenker enlisted the help of engineer Philip Weinrobe, gathering a mass of tape machines, a binaural head, and a pile of XLR cables. 

“I was basically lying in the dirt half the time. We went with the flow. A lot of the focus was on getting nourishment from our meals. We cooked directly on the woodstove, and we went on walks to the creek every day to bathe. I’m grateful that this music has come into existence. These songs have helped me heal. I hope that at least in some small way this music can be a friend to you.”

Backed by soft fingerpicking, Lenker’s magnetic voice references a flurry of memories and beautiful imagery – a hot sun, juicy mango, family fighting on Christmas eve, a circle of trees. It’s a deep and unflinching love song. As the track continues, its pulse held steady by Lenker playing her guitar with a paintbrush, her words get more abstract: “weren’t we the stars in heaven // weren’t we the salt in the sea // dragon in the new warm mountain // didn’t you believe in me?”

Check it out, here

Find out more via Lenker’s Website

Pre order the albums here

The albums’ stunning covers are watercolour paintings by Adrianne’s grandmother, Diane Lee. songs and instrumentals will be packaged together on double LP, CD and cassette.

songs Tracklist
1. two reverse
2. ingydar
3. anything
4. forwards beckon rebound
5. heavy focus
6. half return
7. come
8. zombie girl
9. not a lot, just forever
10. dragon eyes
11. my angel

instrumentals Tracklist
1. music for indigo
2. mostly chimes

Previous Say Psych: Album Review: The Asteroid No. 4 - Northern Songs
Next See: Plants and Animals share video for new track Le Queens

No Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.