Track: Brisbane’s Seasoning sprinkles some dream pop dust over new track ‘Next To Me’ and announce debut EP ‘The Condensation’.

Meanjin/Brisbane outfit Seasoning – essentially the work of multi-instrumentalist songwriter Lachlan Buckle along with Samuel Dalgarno and Thomas Ray Jones – have today released the single and video for the song ‘Next To Me’ which comes off their forthcoming debut EP ‘The Condensation’, set for release on 22 July 2022.

‘Next To Me’ is an ethereal, dreamy track with subtle layers and tones: hypnotic and immersive. A distant saxophone breathes air into the track as the song commences, with a driving jingle jangle ring and crystalline instrumentation. The later saxophone solo is evocative pulse-quickening stuff. Buckle’s voice is velvet smooth, infused with a melancholic burnish as it coasts across the shimmering sounds.

There is something quintessentially Brisbane about this sound – drawing in from the same genetic codes as The Go-Betweens and The Apartments and other antipodean greats to create luscious yearning indie pop.

The accompanying video, directed by Jack Cassidy and filmed in a neighbour’s farm, has a pastoral, bucolic tone as the band performs in deeply rich and luscious colours in some breathtakingly beautiful countryside. The visuals are enhanced by the pop melodies like some soundtrack to a stunning documentary.

Indeed, Buckle says of the video: 

The inspiration behind the video was to try and make it like a late night SBS world movie which is an Australian TV channel that plays Arthouse movies which I would always watch if I couldn’t fall asleep.

The result is something that is quite striking:

‘Next To Me’ is out now and can be streamed here and the debut EP will be available from 22 July and can be pre-saved here.

‘The Condensation’ EP:

Track List:

  1. Next To Me
  2. Del Boca Vista
  3. Change
  4. Loop Song
  5. There Goes The Day
  6. Friends
Previous Say Psych: Track Review: San Pedro Collective - Nightcruising
Next Track: Sydney's Laura Jean unveils the delicious shimmer of 'Teenager Again' with backing vocals from Aldous Harding and Marlon Williams, and announces new album 'Amateurs'.

No Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.