Track: Delta Spirit – ‘How Bout It’ Plus News Of New Album

Delta Spirit have announced their first new album in six years, ‘What Is There’, out on September 11th via New West Records. Along with the news the band have also shared the video for track ‘How Bout It’ taken off the forthcoming album.

Formed in Southern California in 2005, Delta Spirit took an extended break after supporting their acclaimed effort Into The Wide. “In 2015, we were getting along like family gets along,” admits frontman Matthew Logan Vasquez. “That means sometimes we didn’t like each other too much. We were just growing apart. When we took a break and the band stopped, the friendships got an opportunity to come back.” He offers, “Personality-wise, our band is five contrarians trying to agree on an idea. When your similarity is that you’re contrarian, it’s tough. But when things work out, it’s incredible.”

About the new album Vasquez says, “I’m really proud of our body of work, but especially proud of where everybody has gotten to now. I have a lot of hope for us. I’m grateful for everyone in this band. There’s a lot of raw honesty in the music. It’s a record for right now, instead of pandering to the past. It’s the next step.” As much as What Is There reflects their journey thus far, it also ushers them into new territory as both musicians and, most importantly, friends.

Huge piano chords and kick off this cracker of a track in full Americana tradition. A wavering expressive falsetto voice takes up the lead vocals. This is an instant likeable track which is kicked up a notch with the epic two and a half minutes of guitar soloing. I missed there debut from 2014 but will be rectifying that right now. ‘How Bout It’ is an impressive welcome return for Delta Spirit as they sound like a well established band fresh and fired up after their break.

Check it out, here

Find out more about the band via their Website or Facebook

Preorder the album here

What Is There Track Listing 
1. The Pressure
2. It Ain’t Easy
3. How Bout It
4. Can You Ever Forgive Me?
5. Better Now
6. Home Again
7. Making Sense
8. Lover’s Heart
9. Just the Same
10. What Is There

Previous TRACK: In Earnest's 'Put Me Under' swoons in out of the darkness
Next Track: Willie J Healey - Fashun

No Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.