With I Break Horses new album ‘Warnings’ due for release on May 8th via Bella Union, and having previously shared ‘Death Engine’, ‘I’ll Be The Death Of You’ and ‘Neon Lights’, I Break Horses have shared new track ‘The Prophet’.

For the follow-up to 2014’s Chiaroscuro, Maria Lindén decided to take the time to make something different. An emphasis on instrumental, cinematic music, Maria made her own soundtrack sketches to her favourite films, these sonic workouts gradually evolved, “It wasn’t until I felt an urge to add vocals and lyrics,” says Lindén, “that I realised I was making a new I Break Horses album.”

As Lindén notes, the process of making Warnings involved different kinds of dramas. “It has been some time in the making. About six years, involving several studios, collaborations that didn’t work out, a crashed hard drive with about two years of work, writing new material again instead of trying to repair it. New studio recordings, erasing everything, then recording most of the album myself at home…”

About ‘The Prophet’ Maria Lindén says: “The misfit gets to be the prophet and preach to the faithful masses.” The track is a lush collection of synths and the clap of a drum machine. Its a gorgeous golden ray of Swedish finest pop synths.

Check it out, here.

Warnings Track listing

  • 1. Turn
  • 2. Silence
  • 3. l a r m
  • 4. I’ll Be The Death of You
  • 5. d e n l i l l a p å s e a v l y c k a
  • 6. The Prophet
  • 7. Neon Lights
  • 8. I Live at Night
  • 9. Baby You Have Travelled For Miles Without Love in Your Eyes
  • 10. Death Engine
  • 11. a b s o l u t a m o l l p u n k t e n
  • 12. Depression Tourist

Pre-order here

Previous Album Review: Unruly Girls - Epidemic
Next Album Review: Sleepersound - Medias Rae

No Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.