Who doesn’t like a good Pink Floyd song? Certainly Jack Cooper, also of Ultimate Painting, does because he’s released his own cover of Floyd’s Fat Old Sun. Of the cover he says “I was selling merch at the last show of my US tour and a guy who had bought a record told me that the live band sounded like Meddle-era Pink Floyd. In hindsight I should’ve hugged him because as far as compliments go, that’s the best I’ve ever had. I think that post-Syd and pre-Dark Side; Pink Floyd were such an interesting band… weird, English, pastoral, loose, economic and occasionally perfect. I love Syd Barrett and most things up to the Wall but I think that mid-era is the most fascinating. I love recording covers and in learning this I gained some fresh perspective on simplicity.”

He’s kept the wispy melancholy of the original, but he’s given the song his own hazy twist, and his gentle vocal just sits on top of it all. Different, but rather lovely.

Jack has announced a tour of Europe and the UK, starting later this month and including London’s Garage on 2nd February. He’ll be joined by Parquet Courts’ A. Savage, and the pair will both play in each others live bands, alongside Woods’ Jarvis Taveniere on bass and Aaron Neveu on drums. Full dates are as follows:

Monday 22nd January – BERLIN – Monarch (tickets)
Tuesday 23rd January – KOLN – King Georg (tickets)
Wednesday 24th January – AMSTERDAM – Paradiso Upstairs (tickets)
Thursday 25th January – GHENT – Nest (tickets)
Friday 26th January – PARIS – Pop Up Du Label (tickets)
Sunday 28th January – BRIGHTON – The Hope (tickets)
Monday 29th January – BRISTOL – Louisiana (tickets)
Tuesday 30th January – LEEDS – Oporto (tickets)
Wednesday 31st January – GLASGOW – Broadcast (tickets)
Thursday 1st February – MANCHESTER – Soup Kitchen (tickets)
Friday 2nd February – LONDON – Garage (tickets)