Track: Minor Pieces – Rothko

One word can be used to describe Minor Pieces new release – Rothko and that is beautiful.

The duo of Ian William Craig and Missy Donaldson together under the name Minor Pieces are due to release their debut album titled ‘The Heavy Steps of Dreaming” since getting together in 2017. Some might be already familiar with Ian’s work having released ten solo albums since 2011.

Missy and Ian’s vocals work so well together on the first track released. Rothko is a slow burner and really becomes something towards the end when a swirling electronic noise and tape manipulation allows Ian’s voice to soar. The use of studio trickery and the sparse strumming produce a dreamy pop aria of atmospheric sounds, electronic wanderings and vocals teetering on an emotional edge. It is beautiful and you can’t help but fall in love with it. 

Check it out, here.

Previous Live: OK Button – King Tut’s Glasgow 28.7.2019 Plus Gallery
Next Blu-ray Review: Kiss Me Deadly

No Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.