Track: Molybaron – Breakdown

Teddy Masson

French/Irish alternative rock-metal outfit Molybaron, are set to release their new album ‘Something Ominous’ on the 15th of September via InsideOutMusic/Sony Music. The announcement of the new album comes with the release of the bands new single ‘Breakdown’.

When the band released their 2021 album ‘The Mutiny’ (read our review here), the world was still reeling from the effects of a global pandemic. Nonetheless, the album struck its mark with ease, garnering countless glowing reviews and comparisons to the likes of System Of A Down, Tool and Muse.

Two years on, Something Ominous reveals a band that have sharpened their focus and found their groove. Comprising ten succinct and characterful songs, which range from thunderous acts of aggression to noirish, mutant balladry, Molybaron’s third full-length is invigorating and immersive in equal measure.

“I don’t think our sound can be defined by one genre,” says guitarist/vocalist Gary Kelly.

“It’s certainly not by design. I write and produce all the music in the band, but I’m strange – I never really listen to music. I have no idea what’s hot or what’s not these days. I suppose this makes it easier for me to create songs, I’m not trying to mirror any one style, I just write as it comes to me, probably based on what I hear floating in the ether; in the cinema, on the TV, on the elevator, it really doesn’t matter!” 

The new single Breakdown is an epic masterpiece of intimidating piano and a deluge of heavy guitars backing Kelly’s effortlessly powerful vocals that hit the spot. Whether it’s his deep baritone on the verses or letting the cords loose on the soaring choruses the band back him up with a hard hitting track that morphs into a beast of a rock track with exceptional production values.

You can check out the lyric video for “Breakdown” here:

Find out more via the bands Website or Facebook

Pre order the album here


  1. Something Ominous 4:07
  2. Set Alight 3:26
  3. Billion Dollar Shakedown 3:39
  4. Breakdown 3:17
  5. Anyway 4:15
  6. Daylight Dies In Darkness 4:07
  7. Dead On Arrival 3:22
  8. Pendulum 3:35
  9. Reality Show 4:18
  10. Vampires 3:46

Something Ominous comes as CD in sleeve pack, 180g black LP in 12’’ inch vinyl sleeve and digital album.

Previous Track/video : James Heather re-imagines his poignant track ‘Hidden Angel’ to uncover new dimensions.
Next Live Review: Jake Bugg - HMV Empire Coventry 5.8.23

No Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.