EP: DITZ – 5 Song EP

Brighton post-punk / noise rock quintet DITZ have today (June 3rd) released their new EP, called, well, 5 Song EP. It’s out as a limited run of 500 on beautiful pink vinyl 12” via the ever brilliant Alcopop! Records label.

Comprising of New track Role Model which has already been on the end of some Backseat Mafia love, the release features previous singles ‘Seeking Arrangement’ (Permanent Creeps), ‘Gayboy’ and ‘Total 90’, plus a cover of the Peaches classic ‘Fuck the Pain Away’.

While keeping their own voice, DITZ tread closely to bands such as IDLES and Slaves, even The Fall with visceral guitar lines intertwined with these slacker vocals and this loud / quiet, aggressive / introspective that damn well grabs your attention by the throat and doesn’t let go. Opener Seeking Arrangement follows the path, with follow up ‘Gayboy’ anxious and even skittish until it gets it time to explode, which it does do with urgency that like an aural rush.

Total 90 raises the bar further, these angular guitar lines and the Mark E Smith mantra eventually giving way to scratchy, almost thrashy noise which increases to a breathless conclusion. We’ve already expounded on our love for the nervous energy and reckless abandon of Role Model – trust us that it’s incredible, and the band give a gloriously messy and typically noisy account of Fuck the Pain Away.

DITZ just might be our favourite band right now.

Previous Blu-ray Review: After Midnight
Next Album Review: Doomshakalaka - Doomshakalaka

No Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.