Live review: The Dead South – HMV Empire, Coventry 22.06.22

Coventry finally got a visit from Canadas finest, The Dead South after the pandemic had caused the band to postpone the show for 3 years, but the Served Cold tour was here, and the crowd were more than ready for it.

Entering into the HMV Empire, you could tell there was a buzz for the show, the queue for the merchandise stand was almost as long as that for the bar! The venue was packed already with fans dressed like the band, and even a lobster…

Before the band took to the stage we were treated to the sounds of William Crighton and his band from Australia. Id really recommend checking out Williams latest album, which was released this year titled “Water and Dust” 

After a short interval the stage was stripped back to just the basics, lights, kick drum, banjo, rum and a double bass and then The Dead South appeared to a melting Coventry crowd.

“Its been 3 years, you might have forgotten who we are” a gleaming Nate Hilts states, he couldn’t have been more wrong, this sold out  Coventry crowd was ready to party.

The band seemed to hit their stride straight away opening with their opening track from 2014 album “The Good Company’  – ‘Long Gone’ before picking up the pace once more with ‘Boots’ from their 2016 album “Illusion and Doubt”

This wasn’t a trip down memory lane for the band though, with a good helping of tracks from their lockdown releases, cover EP’s “Easy Listening for Jerks” sadly ‘Chop Suey’ didn’t make the setlist but crowd favourite “You Are My Sunshine” formed part of the encore before ending on the classic ‘Banjo Odyssey’

The band finish their UK run of dates on the 24th June in Bristol before going on an extensive tour of America and Australia in 2023 


  1. Long Gone
  2. Boots
  3. Chew:
  4. Recap
  5. Heaven in a wheelbarrow
  6. Snake Man Part 1 and Part 2
  7. Black Lung
  8. Miss Mary
  9. Fat Little Killer Boy
  10. Broken Cowboy
  11. TDS
  12. Blue Trash
  13. Massacre
  14. That Bastard Son
  15. In Hell I’ll Be In Good Company
  16. Honey You


  1. You are my sunshine
  2. Banjo Odyssey

Previous Live Review: Jessie Ware - The Piece Hall, Halifax. 19.06.22
Next PREMIERE: Seattle's Biblioteka stream debut album 'Pretty Ugly' ahead of release

No Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.