Following a captivating set at Latitude festival, Let’s Eat Grandma share beguiling new single ‘Sax In The City’.

This multi-instrument toting Norwich-based duo of Rosa Walton and Jenny Hollingworth, both 17, released their debut album ‘I, Gemini’ last month to critical acclaim. In ‘Sax In The City’, the latest single from the album, Let’s Eat Grandma reflect on a human race enslaved by a reliance on tablets and smartphones and share this dystopian nightmare through their unique brand of what they term “sludge-pop”.

The track is a beguiling mix of innocence and inventiveness. After a sea-shanty style beginning, lyrics are whispered in a child-like tone before the saxophone blares out, seemingly uncontrollably at random, and it becomes dub-infused lo-fi pop. It’s catchy and sugar sweet but, with a dark undertone reflected in the subject matter and the repetition of “tell me something interesting”, this duo commands respect. It’s refreshing to hear a band full of creativity whilst retaining a unique, and sinister, sense of humour.

‘Sax In The City’ will be released on 2 September (via Transgressive Records) and you can catch their fascinating live show at various festivals and UK venues between now and November:

Sat 23 Jul – Blue Dot Festival, UK
Sat 06 Aug – Visions Festival, London, UK
Sat 01 Oct – Margate, By The Sea, UK
Sat 22 Oct – Salford – Now Wave All Dayer, The White Hotel, UK
Sun 23 Oct – Cardiff – Swn Festival, UK
Mon 24 Oct – Bristol – The Old Bookshop, UK
Wed 26 Oct – Birmingham – Sunflower Lounge, UK
Thu 27 Oct – Newcastle – Think Tank?, UK
Fri 28 Oct – Glasgow – Broadcast, UK
Mon 31 Oct – Nottingham – Bodega, UK
Tue 01 Nov – Leeds – Beacons Presents / Belgrave Music Hall, UK (Supporting Anna Meredith)
Wed 02 Nov – London – Illuminations at Oval Space, UK