News: Buzzcocks announce details of the reissue of ‘A Different Kind Of Tension’ & ‘Singles Going Steady’.

Domino Records have announced the latest batch of Buzzcocks reissues, A different kind of tension and Singles going’s steady, are coming out on Friday 14th June. It follows the recent untimely death of founder member and songwriter Pete Shelley.

They follow the 40th anniversary re-issues of Another Music In A Different Kitchen and Love Bites in January of this year and the re-release of the band’s debut EP, Spiral Scratch and Time’s Up, a 1976 collection of demos, in March 2018.

Both albums have been lovingly restored and re-mastered from the original ¼” tapes for the first time and come packaged with lavish booklets containing unseen images and extensive liner notes.

Their third studio album, A Different Kind Of Tension was recorded at Eden Studio in West London in the summer of 1979 with producer Martin Rushent, who had worked on their previous two albums.

Their last studio album to feature the line-up of Pete Shelley (vocals / guitar), Steve Diggle (guitar / vocals), Steve Garvey (bass) and John Maher (drums), it was released in September 1979 and featured a distinctive cover by Malcolm Garrett who had provided the artwork for both Another Music In A Different Kitchen and Love Bites.

Singles Going Steady was initially released in the U.S. on 25th September 1979 on I.R.S. Records, featuring on the A side the bands eight singles up to that point, while the B side featured their corresponding B-sides. Despite being a compilation it highlighted the bands ability to write perfect 3 minute pop songs. Healthy import sales following its U.S. release eventually led to United Artists issuing the album in the U.K. in November 1981 and it has since passed into legend (or something similar) as an iconic release of the era.

The band have also announced that their Royal Albert Hall show, where they will be joined by The Skids and Penetration, will now be a celebration of Pete Shelleys life and the band will be joined by a number of soon to be announced guest vocalists.

A Different Kind of Tension will be available on Deluxe LP (REWIGLP128X), pressed on yellow heavyweight 180g vinyl, Standard LP (REWIGLP128) and CD. Singles Going Steady will be available on Deluxe LP, pressed on purple heavyweight 180g vinyl, Standard LP and CD. All versions come with a lavish booklet including essays by cultural commentators Jon Savage and Clinton Heylin and unseen Buzzcocks photos. Both Deluxe vinyl versions come with a recreation of Buzzcocks’ classic carrier bag and are available exclusively via Dom Mart.

The track listings of the albums are as follows:


1. Paradise
2. Sitting Round At Home
3. You Say You Don’t Love Me
4. You Know You Can’t Help It
5. Mad Mad Judy
6. Raison D’etre
7. I Don’t Know What To Do With My Life
8. Money
9. Hollow Inside
10. A Different Kind Of Tension
11. I Believe
12. Radio Nine


1. Orgasm Addict
2. What Do I Get?
3. I Don’t Mind
4. Love You More
5. Ever Fallen In Love (With Someone You Shouldn’t’ve)
6. Promises
7. Everybody’s Happy Nowadays
8. Harmony In My Head
9. What Ever Happened To?
10. Oh Shit!
11. Autonomy
12. Noise Annoys
13. Just Lust
14. Lipstick
15. Why Can’t I Touch It?
16. Something’s Gone Wrong Again

Previous Track: MEMORIAM - Shellshock, plus new album news
Next Say Psych: Album Review: Vert:X - Death to False Motorik

No Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.