News: Ian Hunter – new album, box set and UK tour dates

Forty Four years after “All the Young Dudes” became the hit he had worked for his entire life, Ian Hunter remains one of the most compelling men in rock and roll. Furthering a legacy which bridges his years as the frontman of the beloved Mott the Hoople, and a lengthy solo career of note, Hunter and The Rant Band return with a new album, Fingers Crossed, on 16 September.

“Dandy”, the track which previews Finger Crossed, sees Hunter pay homage to David Bowie, the man who donated the sure-fire-hit “All the Young Dudes” to the struggling Mott the Hoople. The track sees Hunter celebrating the life of the man who rescued his band from obscurity, and makes for a wonderfully evocative companion piece to “Michael Picasso”, the 1999 track on which Hunter paid tribute to his long-time friend, collaborator and chief-Spider, Mick Ronson. As an artist who has always preferred to look forward than back, tracks that pay homage to key characters from Hunter’s life, a track like “Dandy” is inevitably laden with emotion and pathos.

Hunter will be touring the UK to promote Fingers Crossed in November, and has announced the following dates:

4 November LEAMINGTON The Assembly
5 November GLASGOW Garage
7 November GATESHEAD The Sage
8 November CARDIFF Tramshed
11 November LONDON 02 Shepherd’s Bush Empire
12 November BUCKLEY The Tivoli
13 November HOLMFIRTH The Picturedome

In other news, for Ian Hunter super-fans, there will be a very limited edition 30 disc anthology box set, Stranded in Reality, which is released on 2 September.

Previous Not Forgotten: Super Furry Animals - Rings Around the World
Next Live Review: Raging Speedhorn / Burden Of The Noose Birmingham 20.07.2016

No Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.