News: The legendary Teenage Fanclub announce new album, tour and unveil shimmering new single ‘Foreign Land’

Feature Photograph: Donald Milne

Glaswegian legends Teenage Fanclub have today announced the release of their new album called ‘Nothing Lasts Forever’ on 22 September through their own label PeMa. A portentous title? Who knows. To whet our voracious appetites, the band has released a video for new track ‘Foreign Land’ shot by longtime collaborator Donald Milne and announce a string of live dates throughout the UK and Europe.

‘Foreign Land’ has all that makes this band so great. A feedback entry is superseded by jangling acoustic guitars and a driving pace that canters along like a thoroughbred yet is gentle and insistent. The band’s iconic harmonies kick in – touched with a melancholic brush and coasting over indelible melodies and an anthemic chorus. There is a folk-tinged delicacy to the delivery while a fuzzy, buzzy guitar solo adds a spine of steel.

The video is shot in a remarkable structure – a simple performance piece that is enigmatic and dramatic. Norman Blake says of the track:

The song is about moving forward, not dwelling on the past. We shot the video in Hamilton Mausoleum, near Glasgow. Given that the album is called Nothing Lasts Forever we thought it would be appropriate to shoot a video inside a tomb.

The result is what the Teenage Fanclub do so well: a pop song that shimmers and sparkles:

‘Foreign Land’ is out now and available to download and stream at all the usual sites here.

Teenage Fanclub will be embarking on a comprehensive tour across the UK and Europe – details below.

Teenage Fanclub Summer 2023:
13 June – Cork – Cyprus Avenue
14 June – Galway Folk Festival – Monroe’s Live
29 June-1 July – Egersund, Norway – Egersund Visefestival
30 June-1 July – Norheimsund, Norway – Bygdalarm Festival

Teenage Fanclub Oct/Nov seated venues tour:
07 October – Murcia – Teatro Circo
08 October – Granada – Teatro Caja Granada
10 October – Madrid – Teatro Albéniz
11 October – Gijon – Teatro La Laboral
13 October- Ferrol – Auditorio de Ferrol
14 October – Alcudia (Mallorca) – Auditori Alcudia
15 October – San Sebastian – Teatro Victoria Eugenia
17 October – Valencia – La Rambleta
18 October – Barcelona – Paralel 62
20 October – La Rochelle – La Sirene – Le Cap Grande Salle
21 October – Lorient – Hydrophone
24 October – Munich – Kranhalle
25 October – Berlin – Heimathafen
26 October – Hamburg – Nochtspeicher
27 October – Cologne – Kulturkirche
28 October – Brussels – Botanique
30 October – Utrecht – Tivoli Vredenburg
31 October – Groningen – Oosterpoort
02 November – Dublin – 3Olympia Theatre
03 November – Belfast – Queen’s University – Mandela Hall
05 November – Glasgow – Tramway Theatre
06 November – Aberdeen – Tivoli Theatre
07 November – Edinburgh – Assembly Rooms
08 November – Leeds – Brudenell
09 November – Gateshead – Sage Hall 2
11 November – Manchester – RNCM Theatre
12 November – Sheffield – Leadmill
13 November – Bath – Komedia
14 November – Birmingham – Town Hall
17 November – London – EartH
18 November – London – EartH
(All venues seated except Leeds and Brussels)

Sweet Baboo will support on all Oct/Nov 2023 dates except San Sebastian.

‘Nothing Lasts Forever’ tracklist:

  1. Foreign Land
  2. Tired Of Being Alone
  3. I Left A Light On
  4. See The Light
  5. It’s Alright
  6. Falling Into The Sun
  7. Self-Sedation
  8. Middle Of My Mind
  9. Back To The Light
  10. I Will Love You

Feature Photograph: Donald Milne

Previous Live Review: Léa Sen - Brudenell Social Club, Leeds. 20.05.23
Next See: Joan & The Giants unveil poignant and empowering video for the effervescent 'Cool Kid'.

No Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.