News: The Rasmus release new album ‘Rise’

Photo Credit: Venla Shalin

Today, multi-platinum selling rock band The Rasmus have released their tenth studio album Rise via Playground Music. To celebrate, the band has shared a video for the jubilant opening track ‘Live and Never Die’. The clip is made up of live footage showcasing the band’s high energy stage show and connection with fans.

“Even though it’s the last track we wrote, ‘Live and Never Die’ ended up being the perfect opening track,” explains singer Lauri Ylönen“I don’t think I’ve ever written anything with so many positive words and major chords. There’s a lot of motion and energy to it.”

Listen to ‘Live and Never Die’ and watch the music video here.

The last year has been particularly eventful for the Finnish rockers – from once again partnering with renowned songwriter / producer Desmond Child (Kiss, Bon Jovi, Aerosmith), to enlisting new guitarist Emilia ‘Emppu’ Suhonen and representing Finland in the Eurovision Song Contest finals back in May.

Speaking about the album, Lauri says, “The new album Rise took us three long years to finish. We went from our lowest low to the new glorious condition we are in today. We had plans to record the album in Eastbourne, in England, in 2020. But the COVID screwed everything up. We live in different countries, so we were stuck on different continents trying to record the album over the internet, on the laptop screen. And that really sucked. It was bad. But we tried and got some stuff done. It was a very difficult way to work, and time consuming trying to send the files across the globe to the other side of the world and put songs together like that. That finally ended up almost breaking up the band until the guitarist left us.”

“So COVID took its toll but maybe it was supposed to happen, because right after that, many good things started to happen. We wrote ‘Jezebel’, that became a huge success. We met Emppu who became the new guitarist in the band and her appearance in the group, it’s just amazing. She’s so talented and she really fits the band perfectly. She brings new energy and takes the whole band to a new level.”

“The album was first titled Nightdivision, due to the existing conditions of COVID separating us from each other. But after all these positive things happened, we wanted to rename the album to fit the mood better. The Rasmus have always been a mix of melancholy and hope and now, more than ever that is what we are.”

With songs like ‘Jezebel’ and title track ‘Rise’ launching The Rasmus into a bold new chapter of their career, supported by a European tour in Autumn and worldwide dates through the following year, more great things are to be expected. The band have never felt more primed for glory, believes Lauri, and given the quality of their new music, few would dare doubt him… “Honestly, this is the strongest this band has been in ages,” he summarises. “Eurovision was an experience from another dimension, Emppu helped heal us and ‘Jezebel’ got us back together as a team. We’re a band who dare to dream again.”

Rise is available in digital format as well as CD, LP and a special limited and numbered box set (Iimited to 1000 copies) with LP, CD, logo pin, signed card and 48 page 12“ sized booklet including photos, lyrics and liner notes. Purchase here:

Rise Track List
1. Live And Never Die 
2. Rise
3. Fireflies
4. Be Somebody
5. Odyssey
6. Jezebel
7. Endless Horizon
8. Clouds
9. Written In Blood
10. Evil

THE RASMUS TOUR 2022 – Find tickets here:

Mon 10 – Germany, Hamburg Markthalle
Tue 11 – Germany, Berlin Metropol
Wed 12 – Poland, Warsaw Proxima
Thu 13 – Poland, Krakow Kwadrat
Fri 14 – Germany, Leipzig Taubchental
Sat 15 – Czech Rep, Prague Forum Karlin
Mon 17 – Hungary, Budapest BNMC
Tue 18 – Austria, Vienna Ottakringer Brauerei
Wed 19 – Germany, Munich Neue Theaterfabrik
Fri 21 – Italy, Milan Fabrique
Sat 22 – Switzerland, Bern Bierhubeli
Sun 23 – France, Paris La Maroquinerie
Mon 24 – Luxembourg, Esch-Sur-AlzetteRockhal
Tue 25 – Germany, Wiesbaden Schlachthof (Halfhouse)
Thu 27 – Germany, Cologne LMH
Fri 28 – Holland, Haarlem Patronaat
Sun 30 – England, Nottingham Rock City
Mon 31 – England, Manchester O2 Ritz

Tue 01 – Scotland, Glasgow Garage
Wed 02 – England, Bristol O2 Academy
Thu 03 – England, London O2 Forum Kentish Town

Lauri Ylönen – vocals
Eero Heinonen – bass
Emppu Suhonen – guitars
Aki Hakala – drums

THE RASMUS online:

Previous News: The Wonder Years celebrate album release day with music video for 'Lost In The Lights'
Next Album Review: Steve Bates – All The Things That Happen: Elemental sounds for a wild world.

No Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.