News: Wreckless Eric Announces New Album and Tour

Wreckless Eric (born Eric Goulden) released the brilliant “Whole Wide World” in 1977 (covered more recently by Cage the Elephant) and perfectly captured the late seventies post punk new wave zeitgeist with its laconic delivery and nihilistic lyrics. I suppose one could argue that this was a classic one hit wonder but Goulden, part of the famous Stiff Records label along with luminaries such as Ian Dury, Elvis Costello and Nick Lowe, became disillusioned with the scene and struck out on his own and has continued to play music in various guises on the fringes ever since.

Wreckless Eric has just announced a new album – Construction, Time and Demolition – for release on 30 March and a UK tour to coincide. Built on the themes of modernity, Goulden says “I’ve reached an age when I see buildings being torn down that I remember being built. I wanted the music to sound as though it was demolishing itself as it went along, and at times I wanted to actually hear it destroy itself, fuzz in and out until all that was left was the flat tone of a heart that’s stopped beating.”

You can catch Wreckless Eric across the UK in May:

9 May – MANCHESTER – Gullivers
10 May – BARNOLDSWICK – Music & Arts Centre
11 May – HULL – O’Rileys

12 May – DURHAM – Old Cinema Laundrette
13 May – DUNDEE – Clarks
14 May – GLASGOW – Hug & Pint
15 May – EDINBURGH – Henry’s
17 May – WORCESTER – Marr’s Bar
18 May – BRISTOL – Thunderbolt
19 May – LEEDS – Fox & Newt
20 May – CROMER – Community Hall
21 May – CAMBRIDGE – Junction
23 May – BRIGHTON – Prince Albert
24 May – LONDON – 100 Club
25 May – COLCHESTER – Arts Centre
26 May – RAMSGATE – Music Hall
27 May – LEICESTER – Musician

1. Gateway To Europe
2. The World Revolved Around Me
3. Flash
4. Mexican Fenders #1
5. They Don’t Mean No Harm
6. Wow & Flutter
7. Forget Who You Are
8. 40 Years
9. The Two Of Us
10. Unnatural Act
11. Mexican Fenders #2

Previous See: Midnight Drive Release new Video for debut single Break
Next Track: Peter Kernel - Men of the Women

No Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.