MONTREAL’S crisp, sprawling (there’s eight of ’em) soul-jazz outfit Busty and the Bass have just released the video for the title track from their August album, “Eddie”.

We reviewed the album back in the summer and applauded its sophisticated jazz-funk stylez, with both Macy Gray and George Clinton climbing aboard for guest slots; and one of the highlight tracks was “Eddie”, all loose-limbs riding aboard a cool little break, with some heartfelt falsetto to really bring your lips into a smile.

Now it comes with a neat animation, overlaying the band with lots of bright primary colours and squiggly touches, directed by June Barrie with second animation by Vincent Hurtu – you can watch it here.

But that isn’t all: they’re also undertaking a three-night ‘world tour’ via live stream this coming week, on Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday, December 1st, 2nd and 3rd.

Each livestream in the “Word Tour” series will be broadcast live from the band’s Breakglass Studio and will be entirely improvisational, thus flipping the coin back to the band’s roots as a pick-up live band which formed at university to play for the love of it. Moving outside the pocket, really laying out their chops; now that should be interesting. You can watch here

On December 1st, they’ll be ‘playing’ Paris at 9pm Central European Time (3pm Eastern Time); on the 2nd, Jakarta at 9pm Western Indonesian Time (10am Eastern Time), and LA at 9pm Pacific Standard Time (midnight Eastern Time); and on the 3rd, London at 9pm Greenwich Mean Time (4pm Eastern Time), finishing in Montreal at 9pm Eastern Time. Quite the globetrot, live and direct to your living room.

Busty and the Bass’s second album, Eddie, is out now on digital, CD and double vinyl formats via Arts & Crafts; order yours over at their Bandcamp page or via their website, at which various merch bundles are also on offer.

Follow Busty And The Bass at their website, on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, and at their YouTube channel.